MountainView Hospital’s Post

View organization page for MountainView Hospital, graphic

5,335 followers

We recently asked some of our colleagues why they chose healthcare as a career. Their stories are inspiring! Caitlin Gregory, OTR/L, OTD "I always knew I wanted to be a healthcare professional, but I needed to figure out to what capacity. When I was a Freshman in college, my mom (who is a nurse) broke her wrist and began seeing an occupational therapist (OT). My mom recommended I shadow/observe the OT to see if I could imagine myself doing it. After one or two days of observation, I knew I was interested in this profession. Long story short, I shadowed many OTs following that day and loved every minute of it! Since graduating from OT school, I've worked in inpatient rehab for (almost) two years and am beyond thankful I chose this profession. OTs are unique because we are trained to look at each person holistically and assist individuals in what is important/meaningful to them. As an OT, we assist individuals in learning or regaining skills that impact their daily lives. We address the essentials required to complete tasks and reach independence. Each day, I feel grateful to assist people of all ages from all walks of life in achieving their goals and maximizing independence. OT truly is the best job in the world!" Thank you Caitlin for sharing your "why."

  • No alternative text description for this image

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics