Micah Fries’ Post

View profile for Micah Fries, graphic

Director of Programs at Multi-Faith Neighbors Network

As I work in multi-faith, I occasionally hear that we ought to set aside doctrinal differences to work together. At the Multi-Faith Neighbors Network we would reject that as a false dichotomy. I can set aside my doctrinal distinctives as easily as I can cut off my arm - in fact, it might be harder. Instead, we recognize that we live in a pluralistic context, and each person of faith (or no faith), comes to the public square with all their doctrinal distinctives making them who they are. For me that means I am a follower of Jesus Christ, through and through. My doctrinal peculiarities are what drive me to who I am, to collaboration and care for those who believe differently than I do, and give me the desire to live out and share my faith. We don't need less distinctive faith - we need people who own their theological distinctives and who can live those out, demonstrating kindness and compassion for one another. We don't need to gather together around theological uniformity, but rather around a common belief in the dignity, worth, and value of each person. I don't want people of other faiths who work with me to feel the need to hide or diminish what they believe. We are much better off if we live in a free state where each person can believe freely, and be accountable to live out that faith - where we can share that faith openly. For me, as a fairly conservative Evangelical Christian I don't serve in spite of that theology, I serve others, and love others, and value others, because of that faith.

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics