Mi-Anne Chan’s Post

View profile for Mi-Anne Chan, graphic

Head of Video at Teen Vogue & Them, Founding Editor at mixed feelings

We launched a new column at mixed feelings this year called New Rules, an advice column written by New York teens ages 16-18. This year we will welcome a new cohort of writers and I am so thrilled to get to workshop and edit their work. This most recent story is by and large my favorite thus far, not just because I’ve personally gone through some painful friendship losses over the past few years but because of the depth and vulnerability Ianna, Clementine, and Devin were able to access in their pieces. Please give it a read if you feel so inclined ❤️ they are so talented 🥲

my friend and i are growing apart. should we break up?

my friend and i are growing apart. should we break up?

mixedfeelings.earth

Mi-Anne Chan

Head of Video at Teen Vogue & Them, Founding Editor at mixed feelings

6mo

A taste: 🙃 “Awkward silence is an uncomfortable thing. And when said awkward silence is between you and a long-time friend, it can feel like a knife to the heart. The person who you used to know is becoming a stranger. The first time I experienced this, I became entangled in the past. I replayed old memories in my head and lamented over who we used to be. I tried to do things that she used to love and felt distraught when things weren’t the same. Unfortunately, you can’t force a worn-out shirt on a newly developed body. Evidently, something in at least one of our lives shifted. When this happened again with another friend, I decided to be upfront with her rather than let our relationship fade.”

Like
Reply

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics