The Mayor's Fund for London’s Post

Young Londoners are ambitious, capable, and talented. But many can never see or access opportunities – and the city’s employers are missing out.   Our recently launched 2023 Impact Report shares the stories of young Londoners who now have access to opportunities through our employability and skills programmes. We meet young people facing the barriers where they feel comfortable and safe. Through our work, they build the skills and networks that springboard them to explore careers they thought were unattainable. One of those stories comes from Queren, who benefitted from our Access Aspiration employability programme and is now an Assistant Surveyor at a London firm.    “I got to speak to so many women leading in the industry, I network 100% better now, and I got invited to be on discussion panels at MFL events. That helped my self-esteem, and my future employers were in the crowd. At the interview, after graduating, they said they remembered me!”    Thank you to all our funders, partners, collaborators, and supporters for enabling our work. We look forward to the opportunities we can create together to help London become fairer, safer, and more prosperous. As Queren concludes:    “Working with MFL changed me from [...] thinking I couldn’t do certain jobs without a wealthy background, to wanting so much more... and achieving it.”    👉 Read the full Impact Report here: https://bit.ly/3L9iWcR     

  • Graphic with image of Queren, who benefitted from our Access Aspiration employability programme and is now an Assistant Surveyor at a London firm. The graphic quotes, Working with MFL changed me from thinking I couldn't do certain jobs without a wealthy background, to wanting, so much and achieving it.

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics