Lola Bakare’s Post

View profile for Lola Bakare, graphic
Lola Bakare Lola Bakare is an Influencer

CMO Advisor l Author “Responsible Marketing” | Adweek Creative 100 2023 | Anthem Award-Winning Inclusive Marketing Strategist | Keynote Speaker | Moderator | Workshop Facilitator | Linkedin Top Voice in Marketing

Why am I so critical of our United States of America? Simple! Because I love this damn place so much! My sister Layo is an atypically abled adult who will require care from her family and the many professionals whose expertise and empathy keep that gorgeous smile you see below pretty much perpetually on her face. This is us today enjoying her #july4th cookout (hey whatever Layo wants Layo gets!) There are many more people like Layo in the world who deserve the same standard of care she has access to through federal and state support of all kinds - emotional, medical, financial, administrative...you name it. So how could I not love this place? How could I not do everything in my power to make sure we all remember how much more similar than different we are. I mean if I'm wrong, do tell us how humans enjoying life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness...is a nefarious thing. Life. Liberty. The Pursuit of Hapiness. Whatever that means for Layo... Whatever that means for me... Whatever that means for you. Are any of us "against it?" #independenceday #ittakesavillage #july4 #loveofcountry #novemberisonedaysooner #whowillprotectlayo #unity #responsiblemarketing

  • No alternative text description for this image
Levi A. Webster

Senior Graphic Designer @ Protegrity | Founding DEI Council Member

1w

I am obsessed with Layo!

When I saw your post earlier about The Economist’s terrible mistake I immediately and vividly pictured Layo’s smile, and it made me smile too. Thank you for sharing this.

John Pabon

LinkedIn Top Voice | Author of “The Great Greenwashing" | Sustainability consultant, speaker & UN advisor.

2w

Thomas Jefferson said the highest form of patriotism is critique. People assuming those most critical are “America haters,” but we’re actually the ones that want to see positive change the most.

Curtis Sparrer

Principal of Bospar - Recognized by Business Insider, Inc., Forbes, Fortune, PRWeek & PRovoke!

1w

“I love America more than any other country in the world and, exactly for this reason, I insist on the right to criticize her perpetually.” ― James Baldwin

Ayesha Akhtar✨ Content Writing Expert

Content Writer | SEO Expert | LinkedIn Marketing Strategist | Personal Branding | Audience Growth | Boost Engagement | Website Traffic | Content Marketing | Digital Marketing | Search Engine Optimization

1w

Great Insight! It's a reminder of the power of empathy and the importance of unity in creating a supportive society for everyone. Lola Bakare

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics