Lola Bakare’s Post

View profile for Lola Bakare, graphic
Lola Bakare Lola Bakare is an Influencer

CMO Advisor l Author “Responsible Marketing” | Adweek Creative 100 2023 | Anthem Award-Winning Inclusive Marketing Strategist | Keynote Speaker | Moderator | Workshop Facilitator | Linkedin Top Voice in Marketing

Conference Organizer: I know! I so hate that we don't have budget for speakers too...something really has to change and I am pushing this conversation internally, TRUST me. Email from Conference Organizer 7.5 hours after your keynote: Lola, thank you so much for attending! (I guess they meant speaking?) We have some exciting sponsorship opportunities that we're sharing with VIPs before official announcements! Here's my scheduling link, talk to you soon!!

Shana Francesca

Scholar of Intentional & Ethical Leadership & Living | Keynote Speaker, Consultant & Workshop Facilitator | Founder & CEO at CONCINNATE | Passionate About Creating Transformational Community & Culture | Neurodivergent

1w

Absolutely this. I usually just phrase it back to them. I say exactly what they’re trying to say, but don’t have the guts to say, I tell them that I will not pay them to present my hard earned work for their paying audience anymore than they are paying for the pleasure of working for their employer or clients.

Priscilla Gravenhorst

Chief of Staff | Marketing | Communications | Operations | Global Project Management | Ex-McCann, Ketchum | CHIEF

1w

Wait what? That's just simply bad.

Sharon Steed

Making Empathy Actionable • 750K+ Students • Stutterer • Keynote Speaker • Posts and articles about engaging empathy

1w

The amount of times this has happened to me..... Like this is my job. My literal job. No.

Dr. Anastasia Kārkliņa Gabriel

Insights & Strategy @ Reddit | Award-Winning Author, “Cultural Intelligence for Marketers” | Cultural Theorist | Social Critic | Keynote Speaker | Semiotician | Trends Analyst | Advisor | Duke PhD | Unbought & unafraid.

1w

This is exactly how it is… more often than not, I should say.

Samuel Monnie

Purpose Hive Co-Founder & Co-CEO | Marketing Reformer helping brands prosper from good growth | Author of the forthcoming book: People | Purpose | Progress | Planet | Prosperity - reshaping the 5P's of commerce.

1w

😬😬😬😬😬😬 Having been on the event organizing side I get the real systemic challenge of ‘threading the needle’ on this…. And yes, Lola Bakare You make very good points. I hear you loud and clear. Watch this space 💪🏾.

Anessa Fike

Bestselling Author of The Revolution of Work; Queen of Fractional HR (*10+ years of being Fractional*);15x Chief People Officer; Executive and Fractional Coach; Worked with 120+ Orgs Globally; CEO & Founder of Fike+Co

1w

Lola Bakare The number of times I've heard this.....my response always is - you have more control and power than you think you do. You just need to speak up and say we need to do right by our speakers and pay them!!! I think we give conference organizers too much grace on this. This is something that enrages me.

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics