Luvvie Ajayi Jones’ Post

View profile for Luvvie Ajayi Jones, graphic
Luvvie Ajayi Jones Luvvie Ajayi Jones is an Influencer

4X NYT Bestselling Author | Book Marketing Coach @ The Book Academy | Top 1% TED Speaker | Marketing Strategist | Professional Troublemaker

We like to say "I'm not intimidating; they are intimidated." I've heard this all my life and I'm officially okay with being intimidating 🤷🏾♀️. My confidence is God-given and has nothing to do with anyone else so people being intimidated by me is okay cuz I'm not changing that resolve I walk with so others can be more comfortable. Shoutout to everyone who has heard this since they were little. We MOVE.

Joshua C.

Oppression Affects Us All; Just Not Equally.

2w

I'm intimidated by that boss shoe collection

Lerato Nonyane AGA(SA), CFMP(SA)

Head of Operations @ RisCura | Investment Analytics, Finance

2w

Luvvie Ajayi Jones you continue to be one of my best follows. This is the absolute truth. Thanks for your insight ❤️

Edgardo E. Zaldivar

Senior Engineer at Verisk Analytics

2w

I've actually used this to my advantage so that the annoying coworkers that I don't like can avoid trying to get friendly with me and know the limits on what I won't tolerate from them. On the flip side this also cost me a promotional opportunity once because the direct manager was weak minded and didn't know how to deal with a personality such as mine so he preferred to avoid it entirely and instead promoted someone less experienced than I was. According to him he tries to avoid controversy yet he does controversial $hit such as this for the sake of his own comfort levels. Then of course I would be at fault for confronting and calling him out on it. Confidence can also and unfortunately be a slippery slope in corporate America sometimes but I won't change who I am regardless. I'm comfortable in my own skin. That others are not is not my problem nor concern.

Andrea T.

Benefits and Absent Management Executive

2w

People are afraid of those who are direct. However, I believe they are more afraid of what they don't know. I was born direct so there is nothing I can do about it. However, as an Executive, I am aware of how I present and how it can frighten the people I lead. So each time I get a new role, I ensure that the people reporting to me and those I interact with get to know me. Once they do, they find out that I lead with empathy and compassion and that I care. Once they get to know me, they know that I care personally, they are no longer intimidated

Kelly Charles-Collins, Esq. - The Speaker Mogul

High-Stakes Communications Expert & Strategist for teams and women leaders, executives, speakers, and entrepreneurs | Ret. Attorney | Keynote & TEDx Speaker | Author

2w

Being "intimidating" has everything to do with them. Because the same energy from someone else would not be considered such. So if they are intimidated or feel I'm intimidating, that's requires some self-reflection as to why. Shift the energy of every room you walk in and let people adjust if they must.

Dr. Karen Allen

Ph.D, LPC, NCC Owner and Founder Executive Director Goldman Sach 10KSB Alumni Licensed Professional Counselor National Certified Counselor Licensing Supervisor

2w

When people are intimidated by you, its not that you are intimidating, its that they lack confidence within themselves.

Shayla C. Perry

Program Manager | Transformational Coach | Community Servant

2w

Story of my life. I'm silent and observant, and people take offense. Why is my silence bothersome? Lol. When I speak, it's direct. I don't lack empathy, but I detect BS immediately. My discernment is A1; I know who/who not to empathize for. The ones that I see through, are the ones with the problem usually and label me. I had to learn its not me, it's them. I am blessed and highly favored. I exude confidence. It used to bother me when I was misunderstood because I am a nice person, I'm just no nonsense. So guess what, it's just another label. Others insecurities about my confidence is not my problem. Thanks Luvvie Ajayi Jones 💜

Hadiya Nuriddin, MA, MEd

Award-winning Senior Learning Strategist, Instructional Designer, and Elearning Developer | International Keynote Speaker | Author of StoryTraining and Quality Management in L&D | CPTD | CQIA | CPTM | WOSB-certified

2w

I too have been called intimidating ever since I can remember. And then I ultimately concluded that the word intimidating was being used to intimidate me. Now I embrace it because it sounds like a “you problem” to me 💅

Tyshon Phillips

💖 WORTHaholic 💫 Excel without sacrificing your well-being 🌈 Achieve Peak Performance with a Mindful Approach to Leadership and Life 💪🏽

2w

All facts! 💯 I always, always warn my clients that others will be intimidated by their freedom. Freedom to be innovative in the workplace. Freedom to prioritize your well-being over relentless hustle. Freedom to set boundaries because you know your worth and won’t let anyone try you! 💫 Not conforming to society's expectations can be very intimidating to others, but that's not my business! 🤷🏾♀️ Thanks for this awakening post! 🫶🏾

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics