Lisa Dubler’s Post

As I prepare to begin my new role with Georgetown University McDonough School of Business next week, I'm reminding myself how fortunate I have been to have this time away from work. The days haven't always been easy, but looking back this time has been helpful in a variety of ways. Here are three lessons that I hope can be helpful for those currently navigating a career pivot: 1️⃣ When designing your job search plan, start with what you want to have happen in a day for you to feel at your best. Lead with things like walks outside, time with friends, yoga/meditation, reading, or any hobby that fills your cup. 2️⃣ If you're a caretaker, as has been the case for me, focus on identifying what you're grateful for, instead of letting the worry thoughts take over. Easier said than done. 3️⃣ When you're identifying the list of organizations you're curious about, look at the organization from a wider lens. Consider areas like culture fit, longevity of current employees, opportunities for growth, and if it's a start-up, try to get a sense of where the funding comes from. Keeping the focus only on a specific role is limiting and the more expansive you can let your mind be, the better. Lastly, be gentle with yourself. This is a challenging market AND people are still landing fantastic jobs. The more you're able to focus on what's ahead of you - building connections, upskilling/reskilling, finding ways to give back, the easier the hours, days, and weeks ahead will be. #careercoach #transitions #powerofpositivity

Julie Carroll, ACC

Career and Executive Coach at Goodwin

1mo

Good luck next week! I hope you enjoy it and I’m sure you’ll be working alongside wonderful people. The job-search hustle is so tiring, so I hope you get some (actual!) rest before Day 1!

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics