Lime Connect’s Post

View organization page for Lime Connect, graphic

5,677 followers

Meet Divya, an honorable mention recipient from our 2023 3rd place video contest who bravely stepped into the "Limelight" to share a bit of her story. She shared with us, "For nearly a decade, I’ve suffered from ulcerative colitis, a chronic illness. When it flares, I become severely anemic due to uncontrollable blood loss. I also struggle with debilitating pain and need to frequently access restrooms. In school, I often find myself in desperate need of the bathroom or rest, and have not been understood. When I must miss class because I am too weak, or when I spend a while in the bathroom because I am folded over myself in dizzying pain, I have returned to insensitive comments from professors or peers. My disability may be invisible, but the fact that I can hide my suffering doesn’t make me less worthy of empathy." We thank Divya for courageously sharing her story and congratulate her on all the ways she is rebranding disability through achievement! To watch the video submissions from all of our 2023 winners, visit https://lnkd.in/eCTbvg2A #Neurodiversity #RebrandingDisability

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics