Kevin Yrene’s Post

View profile for Kevin Yrene, graphic

Construction management/Quality control/Quality assurance/Owners representative

View profile for Oleg Vishnepolsky, graphic

CTO, Board Member, Advisor

I HIRED a person over 50. Should not be a big deal, but it was. You can't imagine the resistance I had to overcome. " He will never work hard enough", "he will not fit into our culture", "he will be taking a lot of sick days", "he is overqualified" etc Nobody said he was too old. They were all "politically correct". Even now, many years later, I am still upset about those remarks. I had to put my foot down to get him hired. Long story short, he was one of the best hires I ever made. We all learned from him. He made a huge difference for the company. We should STOP calling people over 50 as "overqualified" and "over the hill". Instead let's consider using these: veteran, very experienced, "someone I can learn from", someone who can make a huge difference because of their experience. Do you agree ? --- Please read next pizza INTERVIEW shocker: https://lnkd.in/dfFpQgh And this latest boss shocker: https://lnkd.in/e-Js_5s

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics