Juan Carlos Aguilar’s Post

View profile for Juan Carlos Aguilar, graphic

Software Engineering Manager at Ask Media Group

It “funny” how your mind can trick you into making you believe that things are too difficult for you to understand. I’m a self-thought coder, assembly language looked very intimidating to me. But, it’s actually easy to understand. The hard part is that it’s tedious and very easy to make mistakes. Those errors can take you a while to figure out the issue. Most often than not, the issue is something really simple and stupid. You would think that assembly is the lower level for programming, but nope. You need an assembler to convert the assembly text to machine code. My mind was again thinking that it’s something too difficult and I was looking at it as a black box. I was wrong, it’s actually very easy to understand the conversion process. The difficult part is to read and understand the documentation for the different computer hardware that you want to support. Assuming that you have documentation, and the documentation is correct. Of course, you shouldn’t bet on that. It’s also a tedious work to map the values in the documentation into the code that you are writing, you will be hoping that you don’t introduce any typos, copy-paste mistakes, or any other silly errors. I’m oversimplification a lot here, it gets a lot more complicated when performance is taken into consideration. But for learning, do small things, make them work right away, even if they are ugly and slow.

Adam Miller

Senior Engineering Manager at Square

1mo

I agree with all of this - assembly feels scary to learn when you first approach it. But I personally found it really fun to code in once I got over that initial hump! It's a good learning experience to be in charge of the flow control with jumps and their conditionals, and it was also the first time that the concept of allocating variables to the heap fully clicked for me. It also made me better appreciate the features that come out of the box with higher-level languages. I'm curious - are you learning assembly for a particular project?

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics