Joe Shockman’s Post

View profile for Joe Shockman, graphic

Co-Founder Grounded AI

I've been blessed with some truly remarkable mentors, friends and leaders. The people I worked with at YouTube were some of the smartest and most capable people you can imagine. They welcomed me, trained me up, challenged me and made me continuously reach for more. I can't properly express how grateful I am to them and the opportunities they've opened for me. I sometimes talk about how good leaders make you more than you were, but it wasn't just the leaders. Almost everyone there had that quality.

The Work People You Keep! The people you surround yourself with can truly dictate your success. Surround yourself with true friends who genuinely want to help you improve. I've been thinking a lot about how the people we hang out with - especially in the workplace - influence our lives. The impact they have, whether positive or negative, is massive! I’ve seen this with teenagers, work friends, and personal friends …. you “Level-Up” or “Level-Down” based on who you surround yourself with. What I've Learned: 1. Benchmark: They can create a new baseline for expectations & motivation. Your needle moves (or it creates complacency). 2. Support: They can give you the right scaffolding and support to stretch, experiment, and try new things (or stay stagnant). 3. Growth: They will introduce you to new ideas and opportunities you wouldn't find on your own (or they hold you back). 4. Accountability: They keep you honest, accountable, and push you to stay on track (or let you wander through life). The company you keep and their belief in you is inconsequential! Look at this story about Airbnb, I bet not many of you knew this story 🏩 Something to Think About: Look at the people you spend the most time with. Are they helping you become the person you want to be? Are they moving your needle for new potentials? Are they raising YOUR bar? If not, maybe it's time to rethink some attachments. Give a shoutout to someone who’s had a positive impact on your life. #leadership #dataengineering #dataanalytics #datascience #ai #technology #performance

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics