Jill Cress’ Post

View profile for Jill Cress, graphic

CMO | General Manager | Strategist | Brand | Product Leader | Culture Agent | Board Member

Last Tuesday, I experienced a life milestone. I was recognized as a NY Women in Communications Matrix honoree along with an insanely talented group of women! This year’s theme was “Rule Breakers”. It was an opportunity to think about my journey, my purpose and what breaking rules means. The event is in support of female students who receive scholarships to pursuit communications. With a 750 word goal, I shared a few reflections. I thought about young Jill and her ambition to go places and make an impact, the role my amazing dad, Tom Justic, had in exposing me to new experiences and encouraging me to push myself to take risks and bend the rules including volunteering to be the kid at the zoo who raised my hand to have a boa constrictor placed around my neck. 🐍 In those moments I stood taller, and the sun shined brighter. ☀️ I also shared the times I stumbled, like losing my run for student council 4 times. With the highs and lows driving me, I continued to always run at what was possible! 🏃♀️I reflected on the incredible career experiences at Mastercard National Geographic and PayPal which provided the foundation for me to think, lead AND to see the world! 🌍 It has been Priceless. In my role at H&R Block 💚 I have hit the career jackpot! It is as if all my experiences were curated to prepare me to be a part of this team that is doing hard things while caring deeply about the legacy we leave in our communities and for our associates, which aligns deeply with my personal values. Finally, it was a moment to celebrate with many dear friends, family, colleagues and partners from our agencies and media platforms. Relationships have been the foundation for me to grow and continue to break the rules. I was blown away by all the support! Devika Bulchandani , who nominated and introduced me, has been one of my most fierce advocates and brought me to tears with her heartfelt intro! It was incredible to have my daughter, Beatrix Cress, my greatest joy, my husband, Todd Cress, (famously known as our Chief Experience Officer), my mom and so many others (Carleen Hinkel Bevin McDevitt Susan Ross, CPCC, PCC Amy White Jason White Tiffany Monroe Jeff Jones Dara Redler Aleemna K Wraye Jenny Rooney Alice Colarusso Ben Humphries Jeannie Esti Stephanie Ricke Alison Giordano Greg Boosin David Ford Drew Warren Kristine McDevitt to name a few…) front and center cheering me on. It was epic. 🎉⭐️ I am still reeling! Life is indeed so rich. ❤️ Grateful for the support from Ogilvy VaynerMedia The Walt Disney Company Spotify Teneo GALE The Trade Desk #NYWICI #RuleBreakers

  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image
Andrea Sullivan

President, vYve by Vayner

1mo

Congrats Jill Cress!!! You are such a role model as a leader, as a mother, as a wife... and as a friend! Thanks for always bringing us along with you. You so deserve this award in every way shape and form. That smile?! Infectious because it's REAL. Love you, girl!! xo

How lucky the next generation is to have you and the other amazing women honored as role models.

Liz Taylor

Global Chief Creative Officer at Ogilvy

1mo

Congratulations on the much deserved recognition. You are incredible.

Lili Tomovich

Chief Marketing & Experience Officer | Digital & Brand Transformation | Hospitality | Sports & Entertainment | Retail | FS | Public Co. & PE Board Director

1mo

So proud of you and for the record you look SMASHING!!!!

Cheryl Givner

Senior Vice President, Assistant General Counsel, Marketing & Technology

1mo

Congratulations on this wonderful honor and milestone! So well deserved and always fun cheering you along on the side lines. 👏🥂

Brian Bustos

Director of Experience Strategy at H&R Block

1mo

So beautifully worded Jill. You are truly inspiring and a thoughtful leader. You have brought transformation that is tangible. Thank you for the now and the future.

Cheryl Guerin

EVP, Global Brand Strategy & Innovation at Mastercard - Member of Mastercard’s Management Committee

1mo

Giant congratulations Jill! A well-deserved honor for all of your accomplishments - not just the what…but also the how! Keep on rule breaking! 🎉👏❤️

Robyn Murphy

Director, Marketing Programs & Operations at H&R Block l DEI & Culture Champion I Intentional Leader I Problem Solver | Board Member

1mo

What a remarkable accomplishment in your career. Congratulations Jill 🎉

Brian Lang

CEO and Board Director at Real Matters Inc.

1mo

Huge achievement Ms Cress- big congrats 🥳

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics