Jenny Wanger’s Post

View profile for Jenny Wanger, graphic

Helping busy product leaders build more effective team cultures via product consulting | Follow for tips on improving product operations

I am a stronger product manager because I think operationally. Many of the best product managers do. A systems-oriented mindset offers three key advantages: 𝗕𝗲𝘁𝘁𝗲𝗿 𝘂𝘀𝗲𝗿 𝗲𝘅𝗽𝗲𝗿𝗶𝗲𝗻𝗰𝗲𝘀. I’m not designing features, we’re designing experiences. When I examine the bigger picture, I see how the pieces fit together. This helps me make better choices. 𝗨𝗻𝗹𝗼𝗰𝗸𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝗳𝘂𝗻𝗻𝗲𝗹 𝗰𝗼𝗻𝘃𝗲𝗿𝘀𝗶𝗼𝗻. Systems thinking introduces the theory of bottlenecks and has helped me look at the opportunities in improving my metrics so I can strategically target the highest-potential areas to improve results. 𝗘𝗻𝗮𝗯𝗹𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝗱𝗲𝘃𝗲𝗹𝗼𝗽𝗲𝗿𝘀. Developers are not machines in a factory. But knowing about successful manufacturing has helped me understand where in our development systems there are problems that need addressing and to what urgency. Specializing in product operations has made this knowledge even more relevant. I encourage every product manager to develop some operational know-how. How has an operations mindset helped you be a better product manager? 

Kamaruddin Mansur

Innovative Product Manager | Driving Growth and User Engagement | Skilled in Agile Methodologies and Data-Driven Strategies | Open to Relocation

5d

Thought-provoking. I’ve been looking at things from this structured process without even realizing especially for UX and funnel conversions. On the enabling developers, care to share about how do you spot those problems and coming up with the solutions to further empower the team?Jenny Wanger

Like
Reply
Jahnavi Kurapati

Senior Product Manager | Discovery, Strategy and Execution

1w

A systems-oriented, big-picture mindset also leads to holistic thinking, considering more than just the number of features. It helps in thinking "how can I add more value to both the product and the company?"

Vallabh Chitnis

COO | Product Management | Professional Mentor

1w

I would consider it as, by keeping the well oiled engine running, you are able to consume the slightest of feedback and make adjustments to keep going and keep winning. #my2cents

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics