Jay Dobbs - MBA, CSM, CSPO’s Post

View profile for Jay Dobbs - MBA, CSM, CSPO, graphic

Sr. Director of Customer Success & Support at Benchmark Analytics

I get countless emails a week from people trying to sell me something that are about this level of engaging (insert sarcasm), but have been guilty of firing off emails like this myself. Excellent points on how to send short but effective emails.

View profile for Daphne Costa Lopes, graphic

Director of Customer Success @HubSpot | Host @This is Growth Podcast | Building and Scaling Customer Success Teams to $2B+ and sharing what I learn in the process.

CSMs: My customers are disengaged😢 Also CSMs: Hi, it’s me, let’s book time. 👍🏻 I recently received this email from a CSM that stopped me in my tracks (and not for a good reason). It was a 4 liner saying: - I am your CSM - Let’s talk And I was baffled at how little effort this person went through to get my attention. Even GenAI would do a better job, and trust me… I’ve been getting some really poor GenAI messages 😂 There’re 3 things wrong with this email: - Doesn’t grab my attention - Doesn’t position the value of the CSM - Isn’t tailored to what I am trying to achieve or where I am in my journey as a new customer A few bits of context: - I am a new customer and I never talked to their team before as I bought completely touchlessly. This is my first human experience with this brand. - I have already completed my basic set up in the system and have integrated to 2 other systems. This CSM had a bunch of information at their disposal to write a message that would make me want to engage. Not to mention that a quick LinkedIn search would have brought them to this page and they would have learned a lot about me and my use case. But they didn’t use any information. A much better version of it would be: “Hi Daphne, It’s Jenny here from [company]. I see that you have hit the ground running with your set up and have already set up your [feature] and integrated to [tool 1 &2], well done! I will be your Customer Success Manager, my job is to make sure you see results with your subscription. I help my customers with: - outcome 1 - outcome 2 - outcome 3 I would love to schedule a 15 mins chat with you to understand your goals and connect you with all the resources you need to crush your targets this year!” I would have answered this email. I didn’t answer the one I got. So here’s the lesson: If your customers are not responding to your emails, there’s a chance you are not writing compelling messages. Take 10 minutes to write a good email instead of copying and pasting something generic. A machine gun approach isn’t going to help you get engagement. 📥 If you're interested in Customer Success, consider joining 9k+ CS Professionals who read my weekly newsletter on how to build and scale a CS Team [sign up in the comments section]. #csm #customersuccess #customerengagement #revops #saas

  • No alternative text description for this image
Jeff Rosset

Skill development for B2B revenue teams that’s easy, effective and enjoyable 💙

1mo

Good share! I guess I gotta up my game with my emails to prevent Christopher Casula from continuously ghosting me…

Like
Reply
Akshat Gupta ✅

Customer Success Leader | B2B SaaS | Sales Strategist | Driving Customer Satisfaction & Retention

1mo

Couldn't agree more!

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics