James Mahy’s Post

View profile for James Mahy, graphic

🗳️ Voted Number #1 Parent on LinkedIn

New toys arrived! I can't use them for their original use, so what should I use them for...?

  • No alternative text description for this image
Ian Gratton

Senior/Lead .NET Software Engineer

1mo

Get it running sshd - port forward to it from your internet router and use it as a honey trap 😂 install denyhosts on there and after 3 failed password attempts the source IP gets blocked. I did this for a month with mine just to gather some stats as to where the connection attempts come from.

Vinay Gajjar

Software Developer | Actively seeking a new role | Front-end, JavaScript, Java, MySQL | 7+ years of industry experience

1mo

A media server?

Scott van Leeuwen

Software Engineer | Marketing | Graphic Designer | Management | Operations | Sales |

1mo

How about a LLM?…. With speakers and webcam you can make a mini Jarvis!!! What automated thing do you need around the house (Home Assistant)? Or warhacking device (think flipper zero)

Hard to say when you already have so much hardware designed for the tasks I can think of 🤣

Ken Corey

I help people, teams, companies be their best. Author, Senior Engineering Manager, Speaker - Steal the secrets in our book to supercharge your business!

1mo

Install Pihole and cut down on rubbish advertisements coming into your IP in the first place.

Not really sure what I'd use a PI for these days. I wanted several a few years back when you couldn't get hold of them but I eventually bought different devices eg an nvidia shield for a MPC and a sonic pad for my 3d printer. Any project I can think of these days that a PI might have previously been my go to for is probably better served by an ESP32/8266 now I've learnt how to program for them.

Daniela Grothe

Softwareentwicklerin C# .NET

1mo

I've got two of them at home. Two issues block me: 1) No little screen to connect to it. So each time I use one of them have to disconnect my laptop's second screen and connect that to it. 2) Can't use the RaspBi in the whole room as this would require connecting RaspBi to my WiFi. Which I have tried and gave it up soon.

Like
Reply
Jetinder (Jet) Sira

IT Professional actively searching for my next challenge and available for hire.

1mo

That looks like a Rasberry Pi......The only thing I'd want to use that for is to build a ZX Spectrum emulator by putting it in to a ZX Spectrum case, wiring it all up and making it work so it feels like a real ZX Spectrum or use it as an Amiga, Amstrad CPC 464 emulator. I'd never use as a Linux machine as I have a few old PCs which run Linux.

Tony Bannister

IT Application Support Engineer at Aris Technologies Ltd.

1mo

You can run doom on it 😀 in all seriousness maybe a temperature or moisture detector for your shed?

Ian Gratton

Senior/Lead .NET Software Engineer

1mo

Do you have any Lego mindstorm ? build something using the GPIO port to control a device that can press a key every n seconds. Keep those activity trackers at bay...

  • No alternative text description for this image
Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics