Jacki Kelley’s Post

View profile for Jacki Kelley, graphic

EVP, Interpublic. Focused on growing our clients business. Mom. Advocate. Friend.

A wise and generous post. Well done Marisa Sternstein.

View profile for Marisa Sternstein, graphic

Associate General Counsel, Dentsu

A personal post on LinkedIn is not typical for me, but as social media flooded with the #nationaldaughtersday messages, I was thinking about my three daughters, and about the impactful mentors I’ve had in my life, and I felt compelled to share. The decision to start a family is a personal one. For me, having children is always something I’ve wanted. When I speak with young professionals, they are often feeling the pull between starting a family and doubling down on their career. Now, with four kids, I often get asked “how??” The answer? I made decisions I knew were right, before I “felt” ready. If I’d waited until I felt completely ready to be a parent – I’d still be waiting. If I’d waited until I felt completely ready to take on a seismic challenge at work – I’d still be waiting. I’m glad I didn’t wait, because so much life happened while I was not completely ready for it. Yes, being a parent and having a career has its challenges. BUT, for the counter point - I know that being a parent has made me a better professional and leader. Smarter, kinder, more patient, more intentional, more empathetic, more ambitious, more flexible, more appreciative of our differences, more mindful of other people’s time . . . My kids see me do hard things (sometimes even before I feel completely ready), and come out on the other side. If I can teach my kids this, they’ve already won… and what is better motivation to get after it than that? And to those who went ahead and paid it forward to me when I asked similar questions (you know who you are)… I thank you!

Robyn DiPasquale

Sales Leader | Strategic Growth | National Account Sales, Achosa Home Warranty

9mo

So true Marisa! Love this. Thank you for posting!

Like
Reply

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics