In-House Connect’s Post

In-House Connect reposted this

View profile for Shai Mehani, graphic

CEO + Co-Founder @In-House Connect, I help In-House Counsel Connect w/Peers + Thought Leaders I Am Yisrael Chai 🇮🇱

Sorry but... why does this keep happening?? Don't you know that we are going to ask for the contract in word format EVERY TIME!

  • No alternative text description for this image
Nada Alnajafi

Award Winning In-House Counsel | Founder of Contract Nerds 📝 🤓 | Author of Contract Redlining Etiquette | Keynote Speaker & In-House Trainer

2w

😂 or just convert it to Word ourselves!

Ray Bramble

Owner / Operator (R. Addington + Associates) - Business / Tour Manager (Howard Gospel Choir)

2w

Interesting viewpoint...whenever I send out a contract to book any of the artists that I represent, I always send a PDF and then we discuss the need for revisions from there, and then I make any changes (that we mutually agree to) from there. I've never had anyone complain or express a concern, but it's good to hear this perspective.

Juan Otero

Complex Commercial Transactions | Compliance | Corporate Governance | M&A | International | IP | Litigation

2w

So I used to get bent out of shape about it. So now, I convert the pdf to word, redline the document, and send it back. If they've really annoyed me, I'll pdf my redlined document and then send it.😁

Alex Simser

Senior Corporate Counsel at Volato

2w

I think it depends on the circumstances - when it’s my contract, it’s perfectly reasonable to send a PDF & expect no changes; when it’s your contract, I expect a Word doc 😂. In all seriousness, I think it’s already been said but many companies prefer to handle changes in amendments or side letters to their standard documents for easier tracking, that way operations folks don’t have to go digging through the contract for special terms. And sometimes, depending on the product, terms are simply non-negotiable.

Emily Tremmel

Experienced Transactions and Compliance Health Care Attorney

2w

If the idea is, as many have expressed, that sending a PDF is a way to communicate that no changes are accepted, and if that is actually true, then that discussion should have been had a long time ago at the beginning of the business negotiation. Your customer/client/potential business partner should not be finding that out after they send the document to their lawyer (which is, unfortunately, often pretty late in the game).

Simon Pulman 🔜 SDCC

Entertainment Lawyer Focused on Complex Rights Deals, Film and TV Finance and Distribution, and Franchise Development; Partner and Media+Entertainment Co-Chair at Pryor Cashman

2w

This is industry specific. In entertainment, hand comments are still quite common, and some companies send you a scan of a PDF (specifically so you can’t even convert it).

this problem wouldn't exist on the Macro platform :^)

Like
Reply
Matt Gimovsky

Sr. Corporate Counsel | Army JAG | Legal + Cyber Tech

1w

PDF, password protected or Word with edits restricted. I like to be easy to work with 😜

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics