ILV Consulting’s Post

ILV Consulting reposted this

View profile for Isabelle LaCroix Vienneau, graphic

Here to pull you out of your funk and back to making sh*t happen | Reinvention Coach, Consultant, Speaker | 20+ Years Tackling 1:1 & Group Disengagement | For Executives & Hustlers 😎✌️

Reflecting on a pivotal moment in my life: Five years ago, my husband dropped a bomb: "Babe, you achieve every goal you set because you don't pay attention to other people." My inner voice was screaming, "Am I a complete idiot? What’s wrong with me? I'm not a good person. A good person pays attention to others." I shot back, "That's not true. I always pay attention to other people. I'm a recovering people pleaser. If anything, I should focus more on myself." He tried to clarify, "That's not what I meant..." but I cut him off. "It's fine, I don't want to talk about it." The next morning, he left for work, and all I could think was how selfish I must be. Weeks went by, and I wasn’t myself at work or at home. I put on a big smile and told everyone, "I'm great!" but deep down, I felt like 💩 One night, he asked, "Babe, what's going on? Did I do something wrong?" I 🤯, "I can't believe you think I'm selfish. After everything I do for you and our family, you think I don’t do enough? You might as well find another wife. I've reached my max." He stayed silent and then said, "I meant what I said, and you're taking it wrong. I admire it. Despite the BS, you show up every day, believing in yourself. You don’t let people crush your goals. You don’t tolerate BS. I love you for it because it's made me a better man." In that moment, weight lifted. I hadn't cried in a long time. I apologized for my reaction, recognizing that my behavior, not my worth, needed adjusting. Shame says, "I am bad." Guilt says, "I did something bad." As Brené Brown highlights, shame is dangerous, while guilt can be healthy, adaptive, and productive. Guilt gives us the opportunity to acknowledge a mistake and seek to fix it. Every painful misstep has been a stepping-stone to a better me. 🥰 Think about your past "not so great" moments—projects that went nowhere, relationships that took unexpected turns leaving you feeling like 💩. Your flops are events, not permanent character traits. Mistakes is not who you are. You are not a mistake and can never be one. 💗 If you’re dead serious about changing your life, start with honoring and respecting yourself. Align your actions with what is most important. 💖 Because if it’s important enough, you’ll make time for it. If not, you’ll avoid it. You don’t have to do ALL the things, just what matters. I’ll be with you, working on my most important goals too. 😎 ✌

  • No alternative text description for this image
MamaLiz ®❤️Liz Franklin

Above-and-Beyonder Youth| International Author| Keynote Speaker| Time-Greatness Workshops 4 Kids, Youth, College | TOP 50 MOST IMPACTFUL ON LINKEDIN | 250 RISING STAR INFLUENCERS | TOP 100 THOUGHT LEADERS |❤️Mama Liz ®❤️

1mo

Not paying attention to outside noise is a good trait Isabelle LaCroix Vienneau I immediately thought he meant it as a compliment when I read you account. I’m glad you saw your worth. Powerful truths for people to learn.“ Don’t let people crush your goals.” If you would not trust someone to accomplish your goals, why in the world would you give them the power to crush them?

Kira Day

Founder/CEO, The Passion Centre | Passion Researcher, Trainer & Certified Coach Closing The Passion Gap | Building Passion Healthy™️ Leaders | Creator of the UnBlocked Method™️ & Developer of The Passion Health™️Test 🚀

1mo

What a beautiful and poignant lesson you have demonstrated in this one Isabelle LaCroix Vienneau ❤️🔥 I especially loved this line: “I apologized for my reaction, recognizing that my behavior, not my worth, needed adjusting.” Often when we assume our identity is being attacked - our protective natures come out to our defense. Yet, often - if we can suspend the judgement of others ‘judgments’ there is a long line of wisdom to take in. Wonderful message my dear friend. 🙏🏼❤️🔥

Rachel Beck

The unforeseen is beautiful and, given a chance, can be more fulfilling than we can imagine | Author | Consultant | Speaker | Kindness changes everything

1mo

Good morning beautiful this is a very powerful post and people need to connect with you💜😃 I absolutely agree with your quote💜😃

Vernon Hiller

I inspire young adults to believe they have something worthwhile to offer the world • Personal Growth & Positive Mindset Motivator • District Chief Toronto Fire Services (Ret'd)

1mo

Thanks for sharing such an important message Isabelle. Sometimes the poor opinions we believe others have of us are second only to the poor opinions we have of ourselves. Our failures don't define us. Believing in our potential and fostering an "I can" over an "I can't" attitude is the first step. Great post!

Jodie Cook

Founder of Coachvox.ai | create the AI version of you | Forbes senior contributor | Forbes 30u30 | GB powerlifter

1mo

Love this IGNORE EVERYONE

Tim Bowman

Author of The Leadership Letter weekly column; Consulting Expert with OnFrontiers; advisor and mentor on leadership and public service; retired U.S. Army and U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Officer.

1mo

I have a different take, Isabelle, as I believe shame and guilt to be in the same class, and it is remorse that allows us to look within ourselves and seek guidance to overcome the shame and guilt and avoid making the same mistake.

Mathew Warboys

Voted Top 40 Global LinkedIn CEO | “The Entrepreneurship Coach” | Built Portfolio of Successful LinkedIn Businesses | LinkedIn Coach for Fortune 500 Companies & Founders/Entrepreneurs | Daily Content on Entrepreneurship

1mo

Wow, this is so relatable! Misunderstandings can happen so easily, even with loved ones. I love how you turned that moment into a reflection on self-worth and growth. Respecting yourself is truly the foundation for everything else.

Hala Taha

Young and Profiting Podcast 🚀 CEO & Founder 💁🏻♀️ YAP Media Network - #1 Business Podcast Network 🚀 The Podcast Princess 👸🏻 YAP Media - #1 Linkedin Marketing Agency 💁🏻♀️ LISTEN. LEARN. PROFIT 🤓💕🔥🚀

1mo

It begins by giving ourselves the love, respect, and care we deserve. ❤️

Andy Crebar

Business Leader @ Devsinc 🚀 Follow me for timeless lessons on business, money and mindset | 4x Founder | Investor in 25+ startups | Many failures, few successes. ⚖️

1mo

Super powerful - "Every painful misstep has been a stepping-stone to a better me."

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics