Hoffmann Brothers’ Post

Hoffmann Brothers reposted this

View profile for Michael Barth, graphic

Vice President, Market Expansion at Hoffmann Brothers - Improving Lives in Every Home!

I've learned that if I go into a meeting with plans for how everyone else will behave... There's at least a 50/50 chance I'll be let down. At work, it's natural to create an idea for how we want a conversation to go. We schedule out every sentence and plan for certain responses, like it's a script. But here's the thing: People just don't follow those scripts I make up in my head! I heard somebody express frustration after a recent meeting. They said, "Well, that didn't go how I planned." Of course it didn't. People are unpredictable! And in that moment, is the person in that situation more frustrated because something went wrong or because things just didn't go the way they wanted? I expect it's the latter. I've found that eliminating my expectations going into conversations has also eliminated a lot of the stress around conversations. I try to hedge my bets. Focus on what I can control in the situation— What I am going to do and say. That's all we can do, right? --------- If you're interested in joining the Hoffmann Brothers team, we're looking to fill a number of positions in both St. Louis and Nashville. You can see the open positions and how to apply at this link, and feel free to message me if you have any questions. https://lnkd.in/eznwzS9T

  • No alternative text description for this image
Gavin Galantowicz, MBA, CAPM, PSM

Executive MSO/ISP Operations Leader focused in high-performing teams, operational optimization, and strategic resource/vendor relations management.

1mo

You are spot-on here… you can only control your aspect of a situation. When the conversation starts to turn in an unplanned direction, I try to take a step back and understand why that is. As Ted Lasso says, “be curious, not judgemental”.

Like
Reply
Eric Schultz

Experienced Owner-Operator | Helping to manage 10 - 250 employees | I work for owners that want to take a real vacation

1mo

You'll always walk away frustrated if you go in with expectations for others. Great share.

Like
Reply
Jordan Roberts

Content Manager | Connector | Story Collector

1mo

Love it. Put your energy into what you actually have control over.

Like
Reply
Marc Pozzuoli

I Help Owners Manage Their Business | Partner @ Journey Alliance | Experienced Tech Leader | PMP

1mo

Well said. Focusing on what you can control empowers you in any situation.

Like
Reply
Emily Mateo

Outside Regional Sales Manager, Speciality Trades at HD Supply Inc. | A Home Depot Company

1mo

Mike, love this. I think as management we assume we can “manage” the room all the time. Nothing like being brought to reality very quickly. Find comfort in your leadership and the fact those qualities is what has brought your success! #1fan

Like
Reply
Steve Carroll

CEO and Co-Founder at Kelso Industries // Building The Nation’s Preferred MEP+ Solutions Partner // 1,900+ Team Members Strong

1mo

Meetings at Cracker Barrel are always best. Right Jacob Mullins?

Morgan Blake, MFA

Helping Construction Companies and Home Builders grow their businesses through online marketing!

1mo

Thanks for sharing! I definitely need to work on this skill.

Like
Reply
KimberMarie Faircloth

Making Magnetic Online Presences | The Sailor's Daughter | Your Local Existential Journalist

1mo

Great perspective here and a reminder that we can only control ourselves! 👏 Michael Barth

Like
Reply
Elizabeth (Liz) Haberberger

Effortlessly energetic. A business leader helping organizations unlock the potential within their leaders

1mo

Such a great perspective Mike!

Like
Reply
Reagan Thomas

It always seems impossible until it’s done.

1mo

Great advice!

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics