Ema Naito (she/her)’s Post

"Are you a vampire person or a zombie person?" Not something I expected to be asked ever, and certainly not in an editors' group 😆 But there you go. We were discussing the role of monsters in books (movies and shows too) and having a great time. Clearly, editors love reading, books and, of course, monsters. Books I loved with a monster (broadly defined as a creature with some kind of supernatural powers) in it: - Circe (Madeline Miller) - Nettle and Bone (T. Kingfisher) - The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue (V.E. Schwab) I'm also eyeing Kaikeyi (Vaishnavi Patel), which Joanne Taylor recommended. Many thanks to coordinators Joanne and Dr Sara Kitaoji AE for hosting yet another fun session for our Chartered Institute of Editing and Proofreading (CIEP) Cloud East group! As to my answer? I used to be a vampire person and had *no* idea that "zombie person" was a thing! I'm not sure if I'm ready to try the zombie stories/shows that Sara recommended... Which are you?

Aalap Trivedi

Editor | Editorial Project Manager

1w

I’m a werewolf person, but I’ve been accused of being a vampire myself 🤷🏻♂️

Toni Suzuki

SFF Novel Editor for Authors | Freelance Copyeditor & Proofreader for Trade Publishers | Specialties: Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Japanese→English Translations

1w

If I had to choose, gotta say I'm a vampire person! Zombies give me too many nightmares. (Like I seriously had nightmares after watching Shaun of the Dead. 😅)

Diane Page

Non-scary non-fiction author support system

1w

That was a wonderful session, Ema Naito (she/her)! I laughed so much... what a fab topic to talk about. I loooove monsters and Joanne Taylor's talk on the subject was great! I could do this for hours and hours 😃.

This is a very thought-provoking post - it sounds like you had a great session.

Dr Sara Kitaoji AE

Accredited editor | Japanese–English translator | Linguist and serial language learner

1w

Oops, isn’t it a standard question to ask one’s friends and colleagues? 😅🤭It’s hard to find zombie peeps, but my enthusiasm seems to be infectious 🧟♀️😉🧟♂️🧟

Joanne Taylor

Editing & proofreading for gods & monsters. Detail-orientated & thoughtful feedback for a book your readers can't stop thinking about. World mythology & fantasy fiction. Everyone has a voice worth hearing 💫

1w

I had so much fun in this session, Ema! Like Diane Page said, it felt like we got to know Sara quite well 😂🧟 I love the three books you chose! And Kaikeyi!

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics