Elle Halo’s Post

View profile for Elle Halo, graphic

I am Elle Hill, black woman of trans experience dedicated to the equity, visibility, and inclusivity of all LGBTQIA/QTPOC. Advocate Model Writer Activist Singer

Check out the rest of my btac posts/ photos here on my fb !!! Take aways this year: Support looks different for everybody - Tiffany Starr I'm proud of myself, my journey my work the way it continues to change and provide transformational moments for myself and others. BTAC surprised me and warmed my heart naming a scholarship for my Father/ mentor Ronnie Grace the incredibly special moments I get to be a part of is the only thing that keeps me going in my personal life as well as the work. Our small Milwaukee community has been hit so hard by immense loss theast several years, I have been battling domestic violence and safety for the last 5 years, while I may have been blessed in my professional life, I struggled everyday and am just even at a place of catching my breath and reclaiming my sanity. To loose Ronnie during this time truly hurt me, I still have been just talking to him everyday and, I'm sorry I didn't spend more time with him and that me struggling and being depressed the last few years has taken so much from me and my ability to also be there for those I love I still fight everyday to reach a place where depression anxiety trauma Triggers ptsd dysphoria do not have control over me, I would not be the woman I've grown to be without him. A man who was more of a father to me Than my own father, who loved me when my own family would not or could not who gave me the tools to become and empowered black trans women and not just fall victim to the streets since that's all yall still tell us we can become. Facilitating and leading our Empowerher committee was a task that I am happy grateful I could do alongside some great ladies in leadership my sister's Mercedes Johnson Jennifer Love Williams and Syria Jackson led Relationship Restoration and Release for the ladies. we were all nervous but hopeful and thank you to each and every lady that attended, spoke from their heart and was vulnerable with us, we laughed hugged touched and agreed, shared about our individual identities, made group poems, and released something we each most want to let go of into a bowl of water at our small alter and then back into the earth. when even with time becoming a barrier ladies shared their most vulnerable prices of themselves at the altar I was overwhelmed I weep for the girls we once were before the world tried to take everything from each of us and then some, every one of us is beautiful strong and we are more than our work or visibility. My Goal this year was to bring joy and fully step into my role, uplift our team and to uphold my own expectations for myself and I'm proud to have done that. through great loss I came back to the conference more mature grounded and hopeful. I hosted TransManifest Showcase for the 2nd time, joyed to make a space where trans art and joy could be celebrated grateful for my brother's Mick Twaun and our Dj. continued in comments below w/ links!!!!!•

Elle Halo

I am Elle Hill, black woman of trans experience dedicated to the equity, visibility, and inclusivity of all LGBTQIA/QTPOC. Advocate Model Writer Activist Singer

2mo

and although we had some technical difficulties we will continue to work to be better and we gave 27 trans / gnc performers the space to live out loud!!! The pageant and outpouring of love for the pageant was beautiful. Often the staff gave felt underappreciated for the work of the BTIPS pageant system and the Btac Ball, we have to support these are groundbreaking spaces and both are community staples and groundbreaking work in creating trans centered spaces, congratulations to our new Royal Court and to all the grand prize winners of the ball , I walked the ball I was nervous as hell and exhausted from the week I'm still learning in ballroom and this was the biggest ball I've walked in so I'm just glad I got out there. People see me as thus confident person but I get very nervous getting in front of ppl , ballroom as I'm learning is all about timing and just not giving up. The Monica Roberts Category was beautiful to see people who didn't know her or her work come with blown up pictures and having learned about her as a trans icon that she is was really amazing. Our ball is open to the ballroom community and that comes with some heavy challenges but as with each area of the conference continues to Family day was beautiful

Like
Reply
Elle Halo

I am Elle Hill, black woman of trans experience dedicated to the equity, visibility, and inclusivity of all LGBTQIA/QTPOC. Advocate Model Writer Activist Singer

2mo

CHECK OUT MY Professional fb page and my btac posts and other work here https://www.facebook.com/TRANCEConsulting?mibextid=ZbWKwL

Like
Reply
Elle Halo

I am Elle Hill, black woman of trans experience dedicated to the equity, visibility, and inclusivity of all LGBTQIA/QTPOC. Advocate Model Writer Activist Singer

2mo

Lastly the Empowerment staff and I hosted the community summit and a healing empowerment zone again people were vulnerable and cried, Raquel Willis came to the empowerment zone and she was so loving and kind to me and told me I sound like a preacher to have someone I looked up to for so long be everything lovely in person and to see my faith walk and roots in that moment was so beautiful and full circle

Like
Reply
Elle Halo

I am Elle Hill, black woman of trans experience dedicated to the equity, visibility, and inclusivity of all LGBTQIA/QTPOC. Advocate Model Writer Activist Singer

2mo

Get better each year , check out my posts and other photos her via my fb

Like
Reply
Elle Halo

I am Elle Hill, black woman of trans experience dedicated to the equity, visibility, and inclusivity of all LGBTQIA/QTPOC. Advocate Model Writer Activist Singer

2mo

It wouldn't let me attach the photo posts in comments

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics