Ella Hopkins’ Post

View profile for Ella Hopkins, graphic

Reporter at Business Insider

Diana Welsch always admired people who could fix things. She was brought up in an upper-middle-class area in Arizona, where #bluecollar work was looked down on. She graduated from art school and worked in a library, but left to become a mechanic. Welsch told Business Insider she decided to go to trade school after she realized she enjoyed fixing her car. "My mom, who had left blue-collar work for a white-collar job, didn't understand my decision," she said. After trade school, she worked in garages for Chevy, Meineke, and Sun Devil Auto. In 2017, she landed a dream traineeship at #Tesla and moved to LA. After completing two years of training, she worked in its mobile service department, where she'd go to movie lots and affluent LA homes to fix clients' cars. "I bragged to my family that I was the most glamorous mechanic in the world," she said. But, by 2023, she became disillusioned with Tesla. She found the workload unreasonable and the pay too low. She left later that year. "I'd wanted to stay at Tesla my whole life — it was the most fun job ever," she told BI. "But I couldn't stay."

I skipped grad school and became a mechanic instead. I ended up getting a dream job at Tesla.

I skipped grad school and became a mechanic instead. I ended up getting a dream job at Tesla.

businessinsider.com

Steven Song

Coding Bootcamp Graduate, History Student at Gordon College

3w

Just read your article on my Insider app. This kind of story remind me to not give up on my career path. I’m studying Google cybersec certificate

Like
Reply

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics