Ella Hopkins’ Post

View profile for Ella Hopkins, graphic

Reporter at Business Insider

Sara Bustillo de Castro and her husband decided to move from the UK to #Spain in search of cheaper and better-quality childcare for their two children. They paid $1,700 a month for each child for full-time nursery care in the UK. When the nursery was understaffed, sometimes parents and children were turned away at the door. Bustillo de Castro, who was working as a manager for a consultancy company, told Business Insider her kids would be sent home for two days if they fell ill. Sometimes, they'd need to see a doctor before they were allowed to go back to the nursery. “It can be difficult to get doctor's appointments quickly in the UK. That made things complicated for us as working parents,” she told BI. “I'd be on work calls and hear one of the children crying in the background. I felt like I wasn't working well, and I wasn't #parenting well, either.” After two years in the UK, Bustillo de Castro moved to Madrid with her family. She told BI she was worried she wouldn’t be able to find work, but she landed a new role as a VP that paid more than her old job. She said the quality of #childcare is better in Spain than in the UK, and the couple spend $580 a month for full-time nursery for their son. "It feels like I'm leaving him with a family member — like a delegated maternal figure," she said. https://lnkd.in/eF4AHNcF

I moved my family to Spain where childcare is 3 times cheaper than the UK. I'm happier and healthier, and I landed a better job.

I moved my family to Spain where childcare is 3 times cheaper than the UK. I'm happier and healthier, and I landed a better job.

businessinsider.com

The main question is…the system in Spain is better and cheaper OR the kinda job of people moving is higher with higher incomes compared to locals ?

Like
Reply

How can something be three times cheaper, that is nonsense

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics