Ella Hopkins’ Post

View profile for Ella Hopkins, graphic

Reporter at Business Insider

Jay Cadmus had worked for IBM for more than two decades when he was told he was getting laid off at the age of 55. Cadmus was unemployed for six months, though he worked as a freelance consultant. He had to pause his 401(k) and his kid's college savings. Cadmus told Business Insider he experienced ageism in his search and found younger people got jobs he applied for. "I knew being older, there were fewer opportunities because I'm more expensive, and there are fewer roles where the hiring manager is looking for someone with that level of experience," he said. Cadmus landed a job 6 months later through his network. "My greatest asset was the network I'd built over the years. When I reached out to people, they told me about job opportunities in their networks," he said. https://lnkd.in/em8np_yy

Being laid off at 31 made me view every job as temporary. Then I spent 23 years working for 1 company, only to be laid off again.

Being laid off at 31 made me view every job as temporary. Then I spent 23 years working for 1 company, only to be laid off again.

businessinsider.com

Jay Martin

Supply Chain, Operations and Strategy Consultant

1mo

Www.ClearAs.org has the easiest to follow job search process for anyone needing help and links to free resources. The 7 Gates of Job Search

Like
Reply

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics