Dog Tag’s Post

View organization page for Dog Tag, graphic

4,487 followers

In this installment of #VoicesofDogTag and in honor of #PrideMonth, we’re featuring DC Cohort 7 Alum and Army Veteran, Marit Taylor. For several years, Marit has been immersed in the world of startups, specializing in data analytics. At Goldbelly, they were the first analytics hire and successfully built and managed a team of ten. Currently, Marit is at Sigma Computing, serving as the technical resource for B2B sales of data analytics software. A significant turning point in Marit's life was dealing with mental health challenges and the stigma of being a disabled veteran. “All my peers from ROTC were getting promoted to Captain, and I was going to the VA. Additionally, I live a pretty queer, liberal life now, and my peers are often shocked to learn I am a veteran.” In both their career and personal life, Marit is most proud of finding and embracing their true self. The journey to self-discovery and openly sharing their story has made them a confident software seller and comfortable in their everyday life. Embracing they/them pronouns and undergoing a medical transition, including top surgery and HRT, are significant milestones. “Standing up and owning my story and background helps me greatly to be a good software seller and confident in my everyday life.” Spending five months with their Dog Tag cohort was incredibly fun for Marit. Unlike typical military training groups, this cohort had diversity, enriching the experience. “Groups like that are very common in military training, but doing it with age diversity and spouses was so fun. It helped me in my future corporate career.” Through Dog Tag, Marit secured an internship at Fiserv, as a data analyst, setting the stage for their current role. “I just kept adding value until I was ready for my next role.” Looking ahead, Marit is excited about the rapid pace of tech. The job they want in ten years might not exist yet. Their current role didn't exist 2.5 years ago, and they love it. During #Pride Month, Marit proudly shares that they are a non-binary trans masculine person who uses they/them pronouns. They recently had an amazing queer wedding to their partner, Alina. “In my Dog Tag application, I mentioned that I would marry Alina, and the CEO, Meghan, asked me about that in my interview, and I was like, yup, we’re gonna get married.”

  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics