David Bircher’s Post

View profile for David Bircher, graphic

Strategy | Impact | Authenticity

Sometimes it feels like a lifetime ago that I started off my career as a teacher in the basement classroom of a Manhattan middle school with Teach For America (Teach For All). That's part of the reason I was so thrilled to be invited by Jennifer Harpur to give a few seminars at Toulouse School of Economics on "Capital for the Commons: Collaboration for Authentic Environmental and Social Progress." I wasn't disappointed 🙌 It was such a pleasure to be in front of curious economics students - and to pull them a bit away from the avalanche of math and calculations. Young people are hungry to solve problems and connect the dots between their lives, the #environment, the #economy, and social #progress. We should encourage this more and provide the space and tools to let them dream, innovate, and test ideas. On a personal note, I often find myself drawn to the big events and thought leaders. It's where many of us place #value - and these global events, conferences, platforms, and speakers are important. At the same time, I'm always the most impressed and inspired at the ground-level - with the people and teams doing the work and living the reality. I hope my time at #TSE helped students bridge the matrix of #sustainability terms and econ jargon with this ground-level, real-world #impact. For my part, it was a real honor to be in conversation with you all. Merci encore!

  • No alternative text description for this image
Martin Alejandro Mondelli

Student in Economics at Toulouse School of Economics | Invested in the TSEconomist Magazine | Looking after an internship in banking

4mo

Thank you very much for your time! It was a really insightful experience to be at your presentation and to hear what you and your team are doing to help the planet. In my humble opinion, we should focus on making stronger bounds and international relationships where everyone has something to win by saving the planet 🌲🌴🌳🌵

Cassi Clausen

Co-Founder of The Open School

4mo

I'm here to say it must have been a lifetime ago, since it was 2 lifetimes ago that you were my student! I hope you are doing well, Dave!

Jennifer Stredler

Managing Director, Common Group. Working at the intersection of Workforce Development, Education, & Philanthropy.

4mo

Lucky students! I’m sure you crushed it! 🌟

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics