Concept 101’s Post

Concept 101 reposted this

View profile for Jamie Clapham, graphic

Co-Founder at Brainbug Design - Concept Art, Illustration & Vis Dev.

We first met Sai Liu at last years Concept 101, after placing first in our bugtober event competition she earned a one on one portfolio review with us! A very promising and affable artist with a versatile portfolio and a wide range of interests. Sai has valuable experience working on projects in Asia and has made the transition to training and working here in the west, she would be a good addition to any project that is a stylistic match!

View profile for Sai Liu, graphic

Concept Artist @Teesside University | 7.5-year work experience

First of all, I am so appreciative to have the opportunity from Brainbug offered for this Portfolio Review. I've received many of feedback on my work, as well as suggestions for the way forward. I was extremely excited to discuss FZD, Framed Ink, Jusant, Ian Hubert, Elodie, Black Myth: Wukong, AI, layoffs, and another topic in the game industry with Jamie Clapham. Thank you so much for your time and suggestions. I would like to explore and find out what I really want to. And I wish I could have this sort of conversation with more people. Secondly, although I had many years of experience working in China before, after finishing the study in MA Concept Art at Teesside University, I was still concerned about connecting with the games industry in the UK and globally. Moreover, the conversations I had with many industry professionals at some events made me realise that though some of the workflows in China are different and even opposite to those in the UK, the foundations and basic information that the industry needs are interconnected. For example, some of the Chinese clients prefer to start with concept thumbnails with colours and textures and are more concerned with the final image, while the workflow in the UK is more likely to start with some quick line sketches or silhouettes and explore different ideas, then make selections and develop the ideas. However, the proportions, trends, values, compositions, etc. used are all based on the same design theory. (Just discussing common situations, depending on the needs of different clients and cases, not an extreme expression) Finally, I am still looking for a job (Freelance/Contract/Full-time). If you are interested in my work, please contact me. I enjoy working on historical and cultural themes and world-building. I think it is important to place characters, environments and props in a believable virtual world. In addition, I never limit myself to any subject matter and cut down my time by learning additional 3D skills for my work. Sometimes it is easy to lose creativity when I am too immersed in skills and I hope I will not lose the innovation and narrative deep in my heart as a result. I would like to network with you all. Please feel free to contact me: LinkedIn: https://lnkd.in/ePUdY_Fy ArtStation: https://lnkd.in/eNnWHaaX  Instagram: https://lnkd.in/ea4cCMxs E-mail: liusaiart@gmail.com #SeekingOpportunity #ConceptArt #VisualDevelopment #2DArt #Illustration #ArtOpportunity #ConceptualArtist #VisualDevArt #2DIllustration #ConceptIllustration #VisualDevOpportunity #2DConceptArt #IllustratorSeekingOpportunity #OpportunityInArt #2DVisualDevelopment #opentowork #freelance #recruiters #videogames #film #preproduction #conceptart #environmentart #environmentdesign #setdesign #mattepainting #environmentconceptart #prop #conceptdesign #entertainmentindustry #filmproduction #indie #AAA #lookingforwork #lookingforjob #portfolioday 

  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics