Communities In Schools (CIS) of Chicago’s Post

Communities In Schools (CIS) of Chicago reposted this

View profile for Jane Mentzinger, graphic

Chief Executive Officer at Communities In Schools of Chicago

Meet Gianna, one of our CIS students who graduated just last year. Gianna worked with the CIS Student Supports Manager based at her school, Maria Watson, for help with stress management and self-advocacy. Gianna and Maria met regularly to discuss her life goals – and how she could reach those goals by making healthy decisions. One year post-graduation, Gianna is thriving. She’s attending City Colleges of Chicago while managing a nail-design business, and she’s working at a local nonprofit to teach a leadership course to elementary girls. “Ms. Maria has helped me with my success a lot because she taught me how to advocate for myself,” Gianna said. “She helped me grow mentally and emotionally, to be in a better place. She taught me how to make decisions based on how I want my future to look and I'm doing that each day.” We caught up with Maria and Gianna recently. Watch our conversation with them here: 

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics