Charles Cozette’s Post

View profile for Charles Cozette, graphic

Building 🛠️

[This piece is personal] Weeks before graduating from the Technical University of Munich, I reflect on what has and has not been higher education to me (Link: https://shorturl.at/m2ecM). Middle school has been incredibly chaotic. Family events made me miss almost two academic years before entering high school (equivalent to K8-K9). It was tough, and I considered stopping entirely several times. In high school, Scholae: Independent Private Boarding High School - Middle School reignited this insatiable thirst for knowledge. It was a rebound. They personalized learning, adapting to students' strengths and weaknesses. Years later, I'm wrapping up my MSc, and my impressions have just been reinforced: it incentivizes too much futile and short-term memory learning rather than durable knowledge acquisition. But for me, the deal was straightforward: higher education was about meeting inspiring people and getting exposed to new ideas, not necessarily about learning actionable skills. Now that access to information is revolutionized with increasingly relevant AI use cases, higher education is even more likely to become redundant unless the academic offer and incentives are profoundly modified. I'm curious to know how higher education has been for you and whether it has been useful. And if yes, how? Cc jean mortreux, Université Paul Valéry - Montpellier III, HEIP - Hautes Études Internationales & Politiques, Technical University of Munich

Higher education may become redundant, and what should GenAI do about it?

Higher education may become redundant, and what should GenAI do about it?

medium.com

Julian Rittmayer

Consultant @ Salesforce | 11X Salesforce Certified | Sustainability @ TUM

1mo

Love you bringing this up in an open forum Charles, like I was saying I do find it strange how hyper-personlised the modern day advertising and social media experiences have become, yet higher education seems bogged down in antiquated methodologies. That said- you touch on a good point, that high education is not just about the education but about networking and pathways that are created during your time there- chances that we would have spontaneously met on the streets of Guayaquil would be quite low I would think!

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics