Business Insider’s Post

Business Insider reposted this

View profile for Jane Zhang, graphic

Journalist at Business Insider

Rejection hurts, and it's easy to feel defeated and give up. Not Qingyue(Annie) Wang, though. She was rejected from Google not once, not twice, but seven times. Each rejection hurt, but she came back time after time, determined to try again. She spent hours and hours studying C++ and preparing for interviews, but seemed to keep coming up short. Still, she reminded herself that her rejections weren't a reflection of her abilities, bravery, hard work, or willingness to learn. In 2022, after a recruiter reached out to her about applying again, she finally landed her dream job as a software engineer at Google. When she got the phone call, she couldn't believe it. Two years and three apartments later, she still keeps her Google welcome letter on her shelf and looks at it every day. "It reminds me of my tenacity and inspires me to keep pursuing my goals," she writes. Read more of Qingyue(Annie)'s words, edited by me, at Business Insider:

Google rejected me 7 times before finally hiring me as a software engineer. Looking back, I'm deeply grateful for not giving up.

Google rejected me 7 times before finally hiring me as a software engineer. Looking back, I'm deeply grateful for not giving up.

businessinsider.com

Knowing how to effectively tell your career story through your resume and cover letter are crucial! I love to hear a success story!

Like
Reply
Jay Martin

Supply Chain, Operations and Strategy Consultant

2d

Forget which, but Undergrad first employer I think was 9 times and post-MBA employer was around 7. Spent a total of 8 years at them.

Like
Reply

Entrepreneurship is my goal. Yes I let people know. Rejection is seriousness. I'm not going to stop pursuing it. Because I always say it going to HAPPEN! That reality.

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics