American Heart Association’s Post

View organization page for American Heart Association, graphic

907,804 followers

Sharell Weeams was out dancing with friends like she did every week, laughing and having fun. “The music usually energized me, but that November 2021 night felt different. Halfway through a song, I felt exhausted, then dizzy. Next, everything faded to black.” She had a heart attack on the dance floor, then went into cardiac arrest. “Luckily, three of my dancer friends are nurses. They started CPR and used an AED to shock me back to life. In the emergency room, doctors found four artery blockages. At 42, I needed quadruple bypass surgery.” For years, doctors had advised Sharell to take better care of her heart health. “When I was 25, I was diagnosed with extremely high LDL cholesterol. I didn’t realize the gravity, even when my doctor said that none of her other patients had such high numbers. My LDL was 514 mg/dL, when it should have been below 100 mg/dL.” After recovering from bypass surgery, Sharell went to cardiac rehab to learn heart-healthy habits and make sure her heart was strong. “When you exercise at cardiac rehab, they hook you up to a heart monitor to see if you have any issues. Getting the green light gave me the confidence to go out dancing again. There’s no better form of cardio than dancing with a partner who swings you up and down a slot. Knowing that it’s good for my heart makes it feel even better.” Proudly sponsored by Amgen.

  • No alternative text description for this image
Dr. Terra Caudill, MD, MS

Physician Executive (13 Years) | Board Certified Psychiatrist (14 State Licenses) | MedTech Enthusiast | M.S. Degree (Chemistry) | Textbook Author (632 Pages) | American Mensa (top 2% IQ)

5d

#DanceForYourHeart Love it!

Like
Reply

I’m glad you got to live despite what happened.

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics