Alzheimer's Association Greater Pennsylvania Chapter’s Post

Meet the Team! We're spotlighting Sara Murphy this week. Join us in the fight to end Alzheimer's and all other dementia. 🔗 https://lnkd.in/etkMyS8u 1. How long have you worked at the Alzheimer’s Association and what is your role? 14 years total with two different chapters! 8 years for the Greater PA Chapter and 6 years for the Mississippi Chapter. My role is Vice President-Programs and Services. 2. What motivated you to join the Alzheimer's Association? My Grandmother (Grammie Mae). She lost her battle with vascular dementia when I was in college. The physical and emotional toll from caregiving that I saw my father experience and the obstacles within the family dynamics of this disease ignited a fire in me. I wanted to learn as much as I could, but more importantly how to take action and find my purpose. With the motivation from my college advisor I volunteered with the Alzheimer's Association and experienced such meaningful connections from helping with what was known as the Memory Walk and eventually becoming a support group facilitator and educator. I had such a great volunteer experience that I thought to myself, "My dream job is to work for the Alzheimer's Association one day." And the rest is history...:) 3. What do you enjoy most about working for the Alzheimer’s Association? Mobilizing communities around our mission!! I am absolutely in awe everyday of the relentless work, passion and impact that our volunteers and community partners are making in their communities.  I get to witness our volunteer leaders share their stories, motivate others to take action, make connections and lead the way in helping to build community solutions in a public health approach is exciting. Our organization is bold and are conveners and catalysts for changing how we address dementia and we ignite this in communities. The power of our volunteers and partnerships inspires me. Partners have challenged me in ways to think outside of the box and always do better and have been so impactful for me in my career. Bringing communities together around a public health issue like Alzheimer's disease is a movement. A purple movement.  Continue reading in the comments below!

  • No alternative text description for this image

4. Can you share a story of a person or event that deeply impacted you in your role? This is almost impossible! I have been blessed with many impactful experiences and people thus far and do not take any of these for granted. However, if I were to highlight one it would be on the day of what was our inaugural Pittsburgh Summit on Dementia. We had planned this event in 2022 with a stellar group of women who were dedicated to seeing Alzheimer's and other dementia addressed within the African American community in Greater Pittsburgh. The volunteers set a goal of 100 attendees and surpassed that goal and the conversations and connections made that day were so needed and inspiring. Feeling the urgency around continuing this momentum and collaboration in Pittsburgh was evident and reignited me in our work. Fast forward three years and we have almost the same group of women leading this grass roots effort to address dementia in the African American community and we are seeing a deeper level of commitment from the community and impact growing as a result.  

Like
Reply
Derek Hahn

Helping rebuild healthcare the way it should be for the Medicare Community

3w

I have had the honor of working alongside and under Sara’s leadership. She is second to none when it comes to intelligence and servant style leadership!

Kevin R. Molloy

Executive Director at Lancaster County Convention Center Authority

3w

Sara your efforts to End Alzheimers & other dementia is greatly appreciated. Thank you!!! Rock on! #Endalz

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics