Adam Grant’s Post

View profile for Adam Grant, graphic
Adam Grant Adam Grant is an Influencer

Organizational psychologist at Wharton, #1 NYT bestselling author of HIDDEN POTENTIAL and THINK AGAIN, and host of the TED podcasts WorkLife and Re:Thinking

When receiving tough feedback, it’s easy to get defensive. The best way to prove yourself is to show that you’re willing to improve yourself.

Evelyn Caron

National Board Certified Health and Wellness Coach/Certified Personal Trainer

3w

Thanks for sharing

mouna belmahjoub

Pastry Chef at Marriott International

3w

Thanks for sharing

Romain Habig

Formateur | Communiquez avec aisance, confiance et clarté | Prise de parole

3w

Brilliant

Alan Levy

Virtual Mentorship Leader | I empower professionals to help young adults avoid costly mistakes and earn passive income by sharing their experience and stories in the topics that schools never teach. | Info Session ⬇️

3w

Before starting a conversation where I'm asked to provide feedback, I like to preemptively level-set the expectations. I'll ask, "What kind of feedback do you want, and how detailed should I be?" Assuming you're not simply a jerk in how it's presented, this dramatically reduces the likelihood of the person taking offense. When they know you tailored your feedback to what they specifically requested, they tend to be much more receptive to hearing it.

Jesamine Poon

Message Me About Your Brand's Opportunity in China!🤎| Expert of Red (XiaoHongShu), DouYin & Tmall Global | Your One & Only Partner for Your Journey to China!

2w

This is very well said. I try to be objective when providing feedback to others, especially in a workplace setting. However, I've noticed that some higher-level managers or supervisors will sometimes give very subjective feedback, such as "I've been there before, and I know this approach won't work - you should do X, Y, and Z instead." and turned down others' opinions completely. What advice would you have for dealing with this type of subjective and tough commentary from superiors? How can one navigate these types of situations professionally and constructively?

Doug Zawisza, CPTM

Learning Leader | Listener | Facilitator | All-Around Nice Guy

3w

Prove yourself by improving yourself. Love it.

Tim Cummings

Enabling people to achieve more, including their current and future goals, using current and emerging technologies.

3w

Thanks for sharing

Love this, when I was 14 or 15 years old I played basketball with a team at the church my family attended. I loved playing basketball. At the end of the season I received an award for the most improved player. I was so happy and proud. Sounds a little naive because life is so competitive. Too competitive, winning is not everything.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics