Adam Grant’s Post

View profile for Adam Grant, graphic
Adam Grant Adam Grant is an Influencer

Organizational psychologist at Wharton, #1 NYT bestselling author of HIDDEN POTENTIAL and THINK AGAIN, and host of the TED podcasts WorkLife and Re:Thinking

I wrote about the organizational psychology lessons for President Biden: https://lnkd.in/esSHai6K

  • Refusing to quit is not always heroic resilience. It’s often stubborn rigidity.

Walking away from a losing battle is not a failure of grit. It's a triumph of wisdom.

Service is not only about stepping up to lead. It’s also about having the courage to step aside.
Adam Grant

Organizational psychologist at Wharton, #1 NYT bestselling author of HIDDEN POTENTIAL and THINK AGAIN, and host of the TED podcasts WorkLife and Re:Thinking

2w

I wrote about the organizational psychology lessons for President Biden: https://www.nytimes.com/2024/07/03/opinion/joe-biden-president-election.html

Georgia E. Noussi

Multilingual | Expert in Event Management/ Project Coordination| C-level EA

2w

%100

Frits van Riel

Tax Director Direct & Indirect Tax @Genesys

2w

Absolutely

Larry Cabrera

Financial Advisor at Morgan Stanley

2w

Walking away is a superpower which can empower you to do better. Here's why... My brother passed away at 3 months old. Later I went into the medical field. I felt that for every life I saved, it justified the death of my brother. Afterwards... Are you going to throw away 4 years, Larry? No, thank goodness it only took me 4 years to realize that I don't want to do this for the rest of my life! 🤯🤯🤯 What else am I passionate about? My dad losing his life savings during the Recession of 1991. So I became a financial advisor. The skills I transferred from the medical field were insane! ▪️Medical exam --> financial exam ▪️Benefits & side effects --> pros & cons ▪️Life threatening events --> recessions, job loss, divorce, death, etc. Many said that walking away & changing careers will be the biggest mistake in my life! Later in 2007...I was invited to the conference of the top financial advisors in the U.S. 🥳💃🕺 Who has the last laugh now? 🤣 Walking away was the best decision ever! 🔥 "When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be." - Lao Tzu. Wishing much success to those who have to courage to walk away and become the person you were destined to be! 👊😎 Thoughts? 👇

Rebecca Redetzke

Organizational Development Consultant

2w

The amazing thing is that the first time you get brave enough to step away from a toxic situation, the easier it gets after that. I was raised that you don't leave an old job without a new job waiting. I spent literally a year and a 1/2 applying to jobs, deluding myself that things could or would change where I was and deciding to stick it out, only to be back to applying to things a few months later. Once I just left, and I stopped thinking things could or would change I rebuilt me, I found better, I learned I deserved better. And the next time I realized that a workplace wasn't working for me I didn't hesitate to leave before it could break me down and turn me into someone I didn't recognize or like again.

Yawen Jang

Design Director | Purpose-driven | Digitally-focused

2w

Knowing when to stop and walk away is wisdom.

Eric L. Lambert, CPA, CGMA, CFE

Director of Assurance at Mellen, Smith & Pivoz, PLC

2w

My drill instructor would like a word...

Adam Frugoli

Change Maker | Vice President | Fierce Client Advocate I Disrupting Status Quo’s

2w

Or you or your family profit from power.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics