Aaron Huizenga’s Post

View profile for Aaron Huizenga, graphic

East Division at Lakes Gas Co.

 Don't Chase the Pig! When I was 12 years old, I was in 4H, the year was 1986ish. I was the Reserve Grand Champion for swine at the county fair the year before and had a great entry into this year's county fair. That is when everything went wrong. When you show pigs in 4H they need to be clean, well mannered, and follow of the direction of the handler. As we backed the trailer into the yard to load the animals in for transport to the event, things went a bit sideways. The new Grand Champion, at least in my adolescent mind, was being loaded in the trailer when he escaped the temporary corral we had installed. The snow fence boundaries we set unknowingly included an unexpected escape route for this swine and he found it. As the pig ran around the front yard of our rural house, my father did his best impression of an NFL linebacker to tackle said swine, while my mother and I stood idly by and cried about the total chaos in the yard. She was worried about the running, and swearing, and time invested into this animal, and I was worried about lord only knows what. Eventually, though my dad's hard work, the animal was in the trailer and on the way to the county fair. Tears dried and emotions calmed we packed our bags for the week ahead. Nearly 40 years later I think about these few moments of my life and wonder this... what would have happened if we didn't chase the pig? Would it have stopped after 20 or 30 feet and began to smell the grass? Could we have simply redirected the animal into the trailer without all of the pomp and circumstance? Now I ask you this, do you need to chase the pig? Can you wait for it to calm itself and come to a simpler resolution? I use the term pig for any number of items that could be 'running' around the yard in your life. Could it be interoffice drama, or a difficult customer, or a child that just can't seem to follow directions? You still have to deal with that pig, but think about approaching it a bit more slowly, and with calculated steps and a plan. Don't run around in-sighting more chaos, but with a level head and calmness, you may be able to walk your problem situation right back into the barn! If you are able to stay focused on the situation, once you have had the ability to take in the necessary information, you can then make a plan. Then act on the plan. Finally, show that pig who is in charge! Again, the more you know. Aaron

Brad Morrill

Chief Acquisition Officer at Morrill Enterprises, LLC

3w

Sometimes challenges will resolve themselves with a little time and just some gentle nudges vs. a frontal assault. Wisdom is knowing when to use which tactic, which reminds me of one of my favorite saying: “Wisdom comes from experience. Experience comes from making mistakes.” We learn from doing, seeing the outcome, and adjusting. Thanks for the post, Aaron.

Like
Reply

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics