Closures planned for U.S. 165 at I-10 this week

Published: Jun. 24, 2024 at 6:45 PM CDT

IOWA, La. (KPLC) - Traveling down U.S. 165 at Interstate 10 will be difficult for drivers this week.

U.S. 165 northbound and southbound at I-10 will be closed from 8 p.m. to 5 a.m. on Monday and Tuesday, according to DOTD.

Then on Thursday, U.S. 165 southbound at I-10 will be closed again from 8 p.m. to 5 a.m.

DOTD provided us with the following alternate routes:

  • Detour U.S. 165 northbound by heading east onto I-10 South Frontage Road, then north onto La. 101, then north onto U.S. 165.
  • Detour I-10 West by traveling west onto La. 3258, north onto La. 383, and west onto I-10 West on-ramp at La. 383.
  • Detour U.S. 165 southbound by heading west onto La. 101, south onto La. 383, east onto La. 3258, and south onto U.S. 165.

The I-10 West ramp will remain open to U.S. 165 southbound traffic.

These closures are part of the over $70-million project which will widen the roads on I-10 and replace the overpass bridges of U.S. 165.

“This is an aging infrastructure that needs to be not only replaced, but like I said, there is going to be wider lanes and a better travel experience for people taking I-10 going east or west,” said John Guidroz, DOTD’s public information officer for Southwest Louisiana.

Guidroz said that even though this will be an inconvenience for drivers, it is all a part of a bigger plan to make the roads better.

“This is a huge project. The work has been going on since September of 2022, and here we are now in 2024. It kind of shows you how long it takes for these kind of projects,” Guidroz said.