I-10 E bridge closed for emergency repair of expansion joint

Published: Jun. 11, 2024 at 9:55 AM CDT|Updated: Jun. 11, 2024 at 1:21 PM CDT
A damage finger expansion joint has shut down eastbound lanes of the I-10 bridge, resulting in...
A damage finger expansion joint has shut down eastbound lanes of the I-10 bridge, resulting in heavy traffic.(Louisiana State Police)

WESTLAKE, La. (KPLC) - I-10 East is currently closed at the Calcasieu River Bridge for emergency repairs, according to DOTD.

Louisiana State Police have released photos of a damaged finger expansion joint.

Authorities say the closure will remain in place until repairs are made.

It is not known at this time what is being repaired on the bridge or how long it will be until the bridge will be reopened.

Traffic congestion has been reported throughout the Lake Area today.

As of 1:20 p.m., an accident on I-210 E at La. 14 has resulted in one lane being closed.

On the I-10 bridge, traffic is being diverted onto I-210 Eastbound, which is causing some traffic congestion that is currently extending back to La. 108. The traffic that was backed up along I-10 between the I-210 exit and the closure is being diverted onto the I-10 service road and onto Sampson Street or I-10 Westbound.

In general, motorists should expect higher-than-average traffic and some delays along I-210 Eastbound until repairs can be made on the I-10 bridge. Anyone using this route, especially to reconnect to I-10 east of Lake Charles, may need to plan accordingly for longer travel time.

If traffic delays persist and you do not wish to take I-210 East, you can enter Lake Charles by taking Sampson Street going north, and traveling through Moss Bluff using Sam Houston Jones Pkwy. You can then take U.S. 171 south into Lake Charles.

Traffic is now cleared on I-210 E after a vehicle crashed into a guard rail along 210 near the Enterprise Blvd. exit as of 11:30 a.m. Tuesday.

Latest News

Latest News