Sports Persons of the Week - SWLA High School Athletes Sign National Letters of intent

Published: May. 1, 2024 at 10:59 PM CDT

LAKE CHARLES, La. (KPLC) - It was a busy day across the country as high school athletes signed their National Letters of Intent making their college decisions official, and in Southwest Louisiana, it was no different as 16 athletes signed on the dotted line, 11 from Iowa and five from Barbe.

  • Barbe:
    • Steven Rice, Tulane Tennis
    • Julia Fontenot, UL-Lafayette Cheer
    • Rachael Popiel, U-L Lafayette Dance
    • Maddie Sonnier, U-L Lafayette Dance
    • Alyx Davis, U-L Lafayette Dance
  • Iowa
    • Cole Corbello, LSUE Baseball
    • Tyler Laverne, SE Arkansas Baseball
    • Matt Vest, Lyon College Football
    • Joe Natali, Northwestern Football
    • Ryann Miller, LA Tech Dance
    • Mia Thompson, UL-Monroe Dance
    • Dashawn Ceaser, Blinn College Basketball
    • Jaya Gradney, Blinn College Basketball
    • Desamonte Gradeny, Baton Rouge Community College Basketball
    • Laila Royster, Northwestern Cheer
    • Jordyn Underwood, McNeese Track & Field

For many of these athletes, it’s a feat they’ve chased since childhood but it took many hours to turn that dream into a reality.

“It’s really a dream come true I’ve worked my whole life for this and I mean just for everyone I’ve been around the last few years to see this means the world to me,” Tulan Tennis signee, Steven Rice said.

“I’m very excited to sign with the Ragin Cajuns cheer program I’ve been a cheerleader my whole life and it means the world to me to become a collegiate cheerleader,” UL-Lafayette Cheer signee, Julia Fontenot said.

”It’s always been a dream you know ever since I was a kid I always wanted to play at the next level LSUE has a great program Coach Willis is in the JUCO Hall of Fame and it’s just a great opportunity to go out and play,” LSUE Baseball signee, Cole Corbello said.

friends, family, and teammates were all in attendance to watch these athletes sign on the dotted line.

“I’m grateful for the opportunity because it is hard to be a college athlete so I’m just grateful for the opportunity,” Blinn Basketball signee, Dashawn Ceaser said.

I’m very excited it’s important to compete locally for me I love representing my community, and I’m excited about it,” McNeese Track & Field signee, Jordyn Underwood said.

“It feels great I made them proud they’re so proud of me and I just love that feeling of making my family proud and that they’re going to support me through everything,” Blinn Basketball signee, Jaya Gradney said.

“I’ve been playing with them my whole life and for my family to be here today to support me is a big thing for me,” Southeast Arkansas Baseball signee, Tyler Laverne said.

“The support system I have is like no other I’m so happy they’re here for me and continue with that for the rest of my life,” Lousiana Tech Dance signee, Ryann Miller said.

The dedication to their craft has finally paid off and as some describe it, it’s a feeling unlike any other.

“It feels good, especially coming from where I’m from there’s not a lot of people who get to do that and I’m just grateful,” Baton Rouge Community College Basketball signee, Desamonte Gradney said.

“It felt great to be able to sign those papers saying I’m going to college especially to play football and be around the ones who coached me and taught me what I’m doing,” Lyon College Football signee, Matt Vest said.