Hometown Heroes - Renegade Troop

Reunion this weekend
Published: Mar. 14, 2024 at 3:47 AM CDT

LAKE CHARLES, La. (KPLC) - It’s been 20 years since the war in Iraq. This week a Louisiana unit who spent 16 grueling months in that country, will get together and remember. Tim Robles and Jonathan Webb are busy putting together the final details of the first reunion of Renegade Troop 2nd ACR, one of the first troops to arrive in Iraq.

“We were basically the first in that initial wave to start taking control of the country to provide the mission that was needed,” recalled Robles. “We were definitely there before the announcement by the president of ‘mission accomplished.’”

The Army troop based out of what was then-Fort Polk, flew Black Hawk helicopters in combat rescue missions, special ops and moved supplies and people in Iraq. They’ve lost a few of their own, both in war and here at home.

“Guys along the way the past 20 years have been struggling,” said Jonathan Webb. “For all of us to get together and embrace and get that brotherhood back together is not only to be healing from my heart, but I’m hoping it’s going to be healing for the hearts of those others that come as well.”

“There’s a bond that is made over there that you can’t make here,” said Robles. “To reignite that, we realize that some of us needed that ignite to kind of be at peace again.”

Both veterans feel the gathering is sorely needed.

“The big deal is that I’m going to look into the eyes of my brothers and say, wow, you’re still here,” said Webb. “I’m still here. I’m surprised I’m still here, frankly. I thought for many years, I’m just not gonna make it. I kept going back, kept going back. It’s just beautiful to see people you thought you might not ever see again.”

The reunion kicks off Thursday, March 14, 2024 and will run through the weekend at L’Auberge resort.