Hometown Hero: Collin Null

Published: Jan. 18, 2024 at 7:22 AM CST

LAKE CHARLES, La. (KPLC) - A senior at Bishop Noland High School is headed to the U.S. Naval Academy this summer, ready to be a part of the class of 2028. It’s an honor that he attributes to his upbringing and the perfect role models to lead him down this path: his parents.

Collin Null knew at an early age that he wanted to join the Navy, “When I was about 6 or 7, my grandpa and I used to watch old naval films together on the History Channel. That’s kind of where it started for me. That’s what I wanted to do. Then when I got older and went into high school, I was trying to figure out what college to go to. I did some research and found out the service academies were an option.”

And Collin won’t be the first member of his family at the Naval Academy. His parents, Robert and Danette, met there and could give him first-hand accounts of what to expect.

“My parents told me early on that they weren’t going to force it on me. If it’s something you want to do, go for it. We’re not going to force you to do anything. Honestly, if you don’t have the determination to go through with it, I don’t see how you’re going to make it.”

While at Bishop Noland, Collin serves as student council president. He’s on the basketball and track teams, has a 4.21 GPA, is a member of the Civil Air Patrol, and is an Eagle Scout.

Collin’s father, Robert, says his son is very prepared for the challenges ahead of him at the academy, “I think he’s probably going into it with his eyes wide open and very aware because of our experiences. We’ve been able to communicate those experiences to him. So if anything, he’s better prepared than most.”

It is a sentiment shared by his mother, Danette, who says it’s a joy to watch their son making progress toward his lifelong goal, “It’s just amazing to be able to watch your child fulfill a dream that you know they’ve had in their heart for a very long time. The tortoise wins the race. It’s not the hare. So it’s that slow, steady, disciplined pace over the long haul that gets you where you want to be.”

But it was his parent’s service and the way it shaped them that made Collin so dedicated to reach the Naval Academy, “Just kind of seeing their character and what they were able to develop in the military, specifically the Navy. It had an influence on me. I wanted to be like them. I want to develop myself and help others and become a great leader.”

Collin will be inducted into the Naval Academy on June 27.