‘Water for My Soul’ project to give Lufkin community access to free bottled water

Published: Jul. 8, 2024 at 7:21 AM CDT

LUFKIN, Texas (KTRE) - A group in Lufkin has come up with a way to give everyone access to clean and cool water during the summer.

“Immediately, I thought, ‘What a great idea,’ so I jumped into my car, I went and got some water, a bucket and some ice, and I said, ‘I’m going to take it to her,’” Sonia Jodarski, who lives in Lufkin, said.

Jodarski is referring to a Facebook post that was made by a woman named Cynthia Willis. She asked if anyone would be interested in helping her with a new project, Water for My Soul. The project will provide free water bottles for people in the community.

“I was driving home, and I noticed there were people walking down the street everywhere. Not only homeless people, but people that were walking from work, and I thought, ‘We need to offer them a way to hydrate themselves,’” said Cynthia Willis, the founder of Water for My Soul.

Essentially, volunteers will set up water stations around the city. All that’s needed is a cooler, ice and bottled water. After the station is set up, anyone can grab a bottle.

“I don’t live very far from here, so I know the need of water,” Jodarski said.

Willis started the Water for My Soul Facebook page. She will post locations of water stations and people can also comment or send a message if a station is empty. They plan to keep stations stocked at all times. She is looking for volunteers, and if you are interested in helping with a station, you can send a message through the Facebook page.

“I just want to help people that are in need, and so if that is giving them a bottle of water and saying this is a random act of kindness. I don’t know who’s coming by getting this bottle of water, but if they can hydrate themselves, that’s all that matters,” Willis said.

So far, they have only one station available, located at 910 N. Timberland Drive. They have plans to open more stations in the following weeks.