Dozens of homes take ‘extensive’ storm damage in Jasper subdivision

A volunteer fire department in Jasper reported many damaged homes as storm response began Monday.
Published: Jul. 8, 2024 at 4:10 PM CDT|Updated: Jul. 8, 2024 at 10:47 PM CDT

JASPER, Texas (KTRE) - Parts of Jasper, TX were hit by an EF-2 tornado. Leaving homes damaged, power lines down and trees are either uprooted or snapped in half.

“I came outside to check on the weather and air started popping and wind started coming out of the southeast real bad. I ran inside and told my wife, my daughter and my grandson to get in the shower. It came and went in about a minute,” Randy Wilgus, who lives in Jasper said.

Around 11 many people found themselves hiding for safety and once they came out, there was a trail of destruction.

“Right now, we got a lot of clean up going on, me neighbor, next door Greg Rhea owns a construction. Within a matter of seconds, he had people mobilized with equipment and chainsaws. They started taking care of everybody’s houses,” Wilgus said.

Greg Rhea, who owns H A H Construction, said while his house received minimal damage others on his street weren’t as lucky.

“I gathered everybody up I could get gathered up. We’re over here putting people’s houses back together. That’s what we do,” Rhea said.

They’re helping at no cost.  He just wanted to make sure that his neighbors are taken care of.

“These are my neighbors; these are my friends. It’s like my family. There’s nothing I wouldn’t do for them. When it’s time to go, it’s time to go. That’s what we do, we take care of each other around here,” Rhea said.

Dozens of homes take ‘extensive’ storm damage in Jasper subdivision