Waco resident turning 104 to be surprised with over 100 birthday cards

Waco resident Rosetta Daisy Stone who turns 104 on July 20th
Waco resident Rosetta Daisy Stone who turns 104 on July 20th(Jessica Rajkumar)
Published: Jul. 7, 2024 at 10:43 AM CDT

WACO, Texas (KWTX) - 103-year-old Rosetta Daisy Stone was born in and raised in Waco in the 1920s, and while she moved around the country to raise her kids, she eventually came back to Waco to settle down.

For her upcoming 104th birthday, her daughter Marcia Mainor Neal says she could have asked for fancy bag or designer clothes, but all she wanted was letters in her mailbox.

“She didn’t want anything she was like ‘material things are just not her’ but she loves mail.”

Neal took to Facebook to ask the community to wish her mom, and the post blew up, getting over 300 comments agreeing to send her wishes through the mail.

While Mrs. Stone does not know about the surprise yet, she shared some advice with the younger generations about keeping your faith no matter what.

“I get up in the morning and I go to bed at night...whatever happened to me the lord knows it’s going to happen, I put Jesus first in everything I do,” Stone said.

And reminds everyone that you’re never too old for a sweet treat.

“I keep some candy in my dresser drawer, I want a piece of candy every day,” Stone said.

If you would like to send a card to Mrs. Stone before her birthday on July 20th, click here for Neal’s Facebook