Lufkin bronc rider Martin talks winning and life on the road

Lufkin native Kash Martin joined East Texas Now on Friday to talk about his win in Colorado last weekend, life on the road, and the upcoming rodeo schedule
Published: Jun. 21, 2024 at 12:26 PM CDT

LUFKIN, Texas (KTRE) - Lufkin native Kash Martin has won first place in bareback riding in two of his last three events that he has competed in.

Martin scored an 88 on a horse named “Blue Ridge Babe” at the Evergreen Rodeo in Evergreen, Colorado. Martin says staying in shape is the key to his success.

“Just working out every day,” Martin said. “Trying to keep my body in the best shape that I can and trying to take care of myself on the road.”

Martin tries not to think too much before a ride.

“I try not to think too much,” said Martin. “When I think too much I don’t ride very good. I’m not a big thinker on the rodeo side of it.”

Martin has been in the rodeo game since he was around eight years old, and he knows that setbacks can happen.

“I’ve had some minor setbacks here and there, but I just try to keep my head down and keep working.”

Growing up in Lufkin, Martin credits his childhood for making him the man he is today.

“My dad was real tough on me and my sister,” Martin said. “He just wanted us to be the best person we could be, and I see that now...Without him being so rough on me, I don’t think I would be where I’m at today.”

Martin has been riding horses forever, but could we see him on a bull soon?

“Man I’m still terrified of bulls,” said Martin. “I don’t know what it is, but I am.”

Martin joined East Texas Now on Friday.