East Texas teen desperate for permanent family who supports his dreams of service

Published: May. 1, 2024 at 10:02 AM CDT|Updated: Jun. 6, 2024 at 3:42 PM CDT

McAllen, Texas (KLTV) - After 10 years in the foster care system, Raymond, 15, can only be described as compassionate, protective and hopeful.

“I’m doing pretty good actually,” he said with a eager smile over our zoom interview.

Raymond joined us digitally from a library in McAllen. He is among the hundreds of foster kids in Texas who are forced to stay in foster homes outside of their “home” regions due to a lack of available and qualified caregivers.

Inside the library, Raymond browsed the comic books and novels section. Reading is one of his favorite ways to escape the complexities of his life, along with video games like Call of Duty.

“Jumping into that world and feeling what they feel,” Raymond said was his favorite part about reading. “I like the details. I like the art. I like how much they put inside of it. And it kind of feels like it’s real.”

In real life, Raymond is flexing his muscles in new ways. He’s currently involved in programs at school like Junior ROTC.

“Today we were doing a drill and we carry a dummy rifle and do marching,” explained Raymond. “[They’re] helping us be a better citizen and a better person.”

It’s not hard to notice that Raymond shows a sense of compassion far beyond his young years. That same grace is extended to his biological mom who he hasn’t lived with in years.

“I want to help her. She used to be on drugs, but I don’t really care about that. Since my dad died from cancer, my step-dad, it’s been really hard on her and hard for me.”

Raymond told us he’s hopeful for a permanent family who would support his relationship with his biological mother. It’s part of an emotional healing journey he’s been on for the better part of his teenage years.

“I’ve figured out how to relieve any other situation and how to not stress myself over one thing,” said Raymond with pride. “Something I figured out on my own is that the world isn’t always a better place but people can try.”

For more information about Raymond, please email hello@heartgalleryetx.org or visit Heart Gallery East Texas.