Longview City Council candidates make their case to voters

From left: Arthur Carter, Jim Cogar and Derrick Conley
From left: Arthur Carter, Jim Cogar and Derrick Conley(KLTV)
Published: Apr. 18, 2024 at 2:16 PM CDT|Updated: Apr. 18, 2024 at 5:45 PM CDT

LONGVIEW, Texas (KLTV) - Three candidates are vying for Longview District 1 Councilman. They are Arthur Carter, Jim Cogar, and Derrick Conley.

Longview resident Arthur Carter owns an employment service company for the disabled and has never run for office before. He feels an important part of office is availability.

“As I’ve been living in the city, I realized that our citizens don’t have access to, who do they contact in the event that they have issues or concerns related to their city. And I feel like the city councilman’s responsibility is such as that. I’m not a big politician so to speak but one thing I do understand is people. I do believe that there is a better opportunity for unity. I believe that there is maybe some disconnections between our city government and our locals. Just want people to know that I’m a man of integrity. I’m the man that, you know, if I say I’m going to do something, that’s just what I’m going to do,” Carter said.

Longview resident Jim Cogar, retired Navy, was Gregg County Democratic Chair for two terms. He feels he’s qualified for council because of his involvement with the city and county.

“I was lucky enough to know a previous councilman who appointed me to a number of commissions. I’ve been on the Historical Preservation Commission. I’m still on the Public Transportation Advisory Board. I’m also on the Walk of Honor Committee which is an ongoing thing. I’d like to see more people involved with the city government, by voting to begin with, by volunteering for commissions. Everybody should be doing that,” Cogar said.

Derrick Conley is the Assistant Superintendent of Pine Tree ISD. He says he wants to continue contact with students as they become citizens of Longview.

“We only have them eight hours a day. So, we can make a big impact, but I want to try to help what happens to kids and their families outside of that time. I want to take care of this side of town, and I want to take care of the families that are here. Give them a place that they have pride in. And listen to what they feel can make this better. Longview’s a great place to live and I just want to make sure I advocate for this part of Longview, District 1,” Conley said.

All three candidates feel communication with constituents is an important part of being on city council.

Arthur Carter:

Jim Cogar:

Derrick Conley: