Panola County sheriff, challenger talk about upcoming election

Panola County sheriff, challenger talk about upcoming election
Published: Feb. 26, 2024 at 3:34 PM CST|Updated: Feb. 26, 2024 at 6:21 PM CST

PANOLA COUNTY, Texas (KLTV) - We spoke with Panola County sheriff candidates, incumbent Sheriff Cutter Clinton and candidate Jeff Martin, about their backgrounds and why each feels he would be the better choice for Panola County sheriff.

Panola County Sheriff Cutter Clinton says he has about a decade of law enforcement experience and has been sheriff since November 2022.

“We’ve made some great strides. Property crime has reduced by 70.8 percent since this administration has been in office. Our crimes against persons has reduced by 32.8 percent since this administration has been in office and I want to continue a good thing. Opportunity came, some support came up for me to seek election of sheriff of my hometown, my home county, and I went for it. I have no regrets. I think we’re doing a great job and it’s all been from this team. I want us to be the premier sheriff’s office in East Texas,” Clinton said.

Clinton’s opponent, Jeff Martin, says he has over twenty years of experience with Panola County as a deputy and is now working as Panola County License and Weight Officer.

Martin believes his experience will bring important benefits to the role of sheriff.

“I’ve got a lot of experience through the years, a lot of working with the public. Your community involvement is 100 percent what you need. The community’s going to help you out with cases. They see stuff that we don’t see. You need community involvement, and you need their support and their help. When I first got into law enforcement, I said one day I’ll run for sheriff. And it’s just the time. I mean, I’m not a politician. I’m a law man,” Martin said.

Both candidates urge the public to get out and cast their vote.