Two Republican candidates competing for sheriff in Houston County

Two Republican candidates competing for sheriff in Houston County
Published: Feb. 22, 2024 at 8:52 PM CST

HOUSTON COUNTY, Texas (KTRE) - In Houston County, two republican candidates are competing for the position of sheriff in the upcoming 2024 primary election.

First elected in 2020 - Randy Hargrove is the current sheriff of Houston County.

“I believe God called me to this position much like a ministry gets a calling to a church, and the citizens of Houston County confirmed that for me by voting me in, in 2020,” said Hargrove.

He brings almost 27 years of law enforcement experience to the role.

“I’ve done a lot of felony cases. A lot of forensic training. I’ve been appointed to the cold case committee for the sheriff association of Texas in 2011,” said Hargrove.

Recently retired Texas Game Warden Zak Benge is challenging Hargrove for the sheriff’s position.

With almost 25 years at Texas Parks and Wildlife as a Game Warden, Benge said he was encouraged to run for sheriff.

He believes his leadership style and abilities makes him stand out in the race.

“I could not do my job effectively if I did not build positive relationships in the community where folks knew when they called me, I would be empathetic to their concerns,” said Benge.

Both candidates believe their years of experience make them ready for the sheriff position.

“Everything that I’ve done these three years, it’s just made me better than I was when I first got elected,” said Hargrove.

“I’ve got a wealth of contacts, a wealth of knowledge from years as a Texas Game Warden throughout the state and out of the state,” Benge.

Benge said his goals are to address four main areas including investigations, partner agencies, relationship building and visibility.

“We’re undermanned, understaffed on our patrol and that’s where you get your biggest bang for your buck. Visibility is your biggest occurrence,” Benge.

Hargrove sees his role as sheriff as an opportunity to help people in a new and impactful way.

“We’re going to continue to advance our training. We’ve upped our training for all of our deputies here and our jailers,” said Hargrove.

There is no democratic challenger filed for Houston County Sheriff, whoever wins the primary becomes the presumptive winner.

Early voting ends on Friday, March 1, with the 20-24 primary election day scheduled for Tuesday, March 5.