So much for that love, the crazy kind! Halsey and her rapper boyfriend G-Eazy, real name Gerald Gillum, have called it quits after a passionate year of romance, and fans can’t help but wonder why the couple that seemed so perfect for each other would break up! While G-Eazy has yet to speak out, here’s what Halsey had to say:

“I usually keep this kind of thing private but provided our public nature I feel the need to inform my fans. G-Eazy and I are taking some time apart. I’m eager to continue the upcoming passage of time dedicating myself to my art and my career and the duration of my tour. I wish him the best. Thanks for respecting our privacy at this time.”

halsey g eazy breakup

Fans are crushed by the news, and they want answers. “I was just informed that G-Eazy & Halsey split up. I am not okay,” said one. Another agreed, writing, “since Halsey and G-Eazy broke up I have zero faith in humanity anymore.”

Before she announced the split, fans were already suspicious. Halsey recently deleted almost all of the pics with G-Eazy on her Instagram, unfollowed him, and posted a photo of herself with her dog with the caption, “kiss my dog on the forehead and then kiss ur a– goodbye ✅.” Not long after, she posted the breakup announcement on Stories.

Earlier the same day, British website Daily Star revealed text messages reportedly from G-Eazy after he began dating Halsey in which he flirts with another woman, and the discussion turns racy. In December 2017, a few months after his romance began, the Snapchat messages say things like “Damn… you got some a– on you shorty,” and then requests a picture of “the front.” He then compliments a nude photo of the girl, and she asks if he’s “hung,” to which the account replies with a redacted number of inches. It’s unclear if Halsey’s split has anything to do with this news.

G-Eazy was also arrested a little over a month earlier in May for allegedly being caught with cocaine in Sweden, while Halsey was with him. Halsey herself was reportedly seem snorting drugs on a yacht in January, which gained her a lot of backlash from younger fans. Many fans believed they were a bad influence on each other. Regardless, we wish them both the best.

Have a tip? Send it to us! Email In Touch at contact@intouchweekly.com.